Baked Corn II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I have to agree with sunnnij, this recipe really highlights the flavor of the corn. There seem to be three categories of this type of recipe: cakey, custardy, or soufflé-like, and varying degress of sweetness. This results in more of a custard, with the perfect balance of sweetness to my taste. Of course, I realize that that is a strictly personal preference, and preferences vary. I used to use a recipe that my Mom gave me which is quite similar, but had less corn, more milk, and twice the sugar, flour and eggs. Since I prefer canned corn, to preserve the exact proportion of corn as specified in the recipe, I used kitchen scales to weigh out 16 oz of canned Niblets corn from two 11 oz cans, which left 3.5 oz of corn leftover from the second can... I expect just using the two 11 oz cans would work fine. The texture was more custard like, which I really liked. To prevent excessive clumps that other reviewers mentioned, I put the flour and sugar into the mixing bowl, then added the 3/4 cup of cold milk and whisked vigorously, then added the egg and whisked again. (Never try to add flour to any liquid that is not really cold, as the flour will immediately create lumps that will be impossible to eliminate without a sieve). Then I nuked it for 20 seconds or so to warm it to about room temperature before adding the melted butter and corn. Baked as specified and it came out perfect. This is *definitely* replacing the recipe my Mom gave me (sorry, Mom!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
For a last minute dish, I used the crock pot method for a company pot luck. Now I'm asked to bring it every time. Since I double the receipe, I cook on the high setting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
I quadrupled the recipe for my church picnic, and people just ate it up! It is so easy to make, and you can do it all in one bowl and one casserole dish! The color is wonderful when baked, as it turns a nice orange on top and is very attractive. It is important to defrost and drain the corn of any extra water before using it, as the final product is a wonderful consistency when done. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
I probably didn't make it right the first time. My first time using a crock pot and it wasn't specified whether the crock pot should be on high or low. I tried it low for an hour. It wasn't doing much so I switched it to high for the last three hours. It tasted pretty good. I also tried cutting a corner. I threw the corn in frozen instead of thawing and drying it. The corn was sweet in a mushy mixture. Maybe if I would have thawed and dried the corn it would have come out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Just super. I love corn any old way, but this gave the corn an extra flair for my big dinner party. Thanks so much, Karen! I sprinkled a bit of Parmesan on top just for a garnish and when it melted in to the dish...wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Thanks so much Karen====Everyone loves this recipe,myself included:)I make a lot, and use a 13x9 pan.I didnt change anything on the recipe. Its great-----
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
It was a bit sweet for a side dish. I would probably omit the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I love this! I've made it several times and am always asked for the recipe. It's simple and delicious, a real winner in my book. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I cooked this in the crock pot. It was pretty good. The recipe itself is great, but I forgot to add the milk until about an hour after it was cooking, so I added it late. It was still good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and took it to a pot luck dinner at our church; everyone loved it! I was pleased with the taste and texture, and I didn't have any leftover to bring home. I made it again a few days later for my family and again everyone enjoyed it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States