Baked Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Utterly delicious! The only thing I changed was halving the butter to 2 Tablespoons. This was still so creamy & rich, I could've further reduced, or left out, the butter, and it would still be as tasty. Since we prefer a higher ratio of vegetable to fat, I'll probably add more corn & green chile next time. To those contemplating whether to make this or not, definitely do! I would try this with frozen or fresh corn, & with Neufchatel, a lower-in-fat cream cheese. These few changes won't compromise the delicious factor. --- UPDATE: I tried this again, with only these changes to the recipe: I used Neufchatel cream cheese, so the texture still was very creamy. I left out ALL the butter; I wouldn't suggest doing that as we did miss the rich, extra-buttery taste. So if you want a lower in fat version, do try Neufchatel & use only half the butter=perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Sooooooooooo fattening, but I swear it's worth every calorie! (I've never used french fried onions before and was horrified when I read the nutrition information) I left out the green chilis in consideration of my 2 year old. I think this would have been very good either way. I did think it could use a bit of salt. I just sprinkled a little on top of my serving and that was fine, but next time I think I'll try adding 1/4 tsp. Note: In spite of the fat, DON'T skip the french fried onions, as they definitely add texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
VERY creamy/soupy-didn't care for the texture, just too cream-cheesy. Glad I tried it but probably won't make again. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
My husband made this for his office potluck and I had a little nibble of it. I loved it! We agree with the previous reviewer that said that it does not fit in a 1 quart dish. We also only used about 1/2 the french fried onions because to use the full amount seemed like too much to both of us. We will definately be making this for Christmas dinner this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This dish was excellent. I skipped the green chiles, although I would add them if I were serving this dish with a Mexican meal. I also skipped the fried onions because I was not in the mood for too much onion flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
My family really loved this one - I will make it again. It is definitely very creamy and even a little runny, but the flavor is nice, especially if you use "sweet" canned corn. One thing to note: the recipe says to cook this in a 1 quart casserole dish, but the mixture does NOT fit in a 1 quart dish! I used a 2 quart dish which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
Pretty good. My youngest said this is one of her favorite things to eat now. I did omit the green chilies, since my two girls are a bit picky and wouldn't have touched it if they saw it in there. An interesting alternative to the green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I just found this recipe and made it for both a work Thanksgiving and a family Thanksgiving. It's been a while since I received so many compliments on a baked dish. The only complaint was there was not enough! I did add garlic--you can never have too much garlic! I also substituted 1/2 of the french onions with the cheddar flavored onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Add a little cheeder cheese too, it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
Creamy and delicious! This vanished very quickly from the dinner table. It is simple to make and will become one of my staple recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States