Baked Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made a couple of changes in this recipe, and it was a hit at the holiday table. In fact, my father-in-law whom barely eats anything, tore this up! I omited the chiles because there was going to be a child at the table, and I forgot to pick up the french fried onions, so they were left out as well. As another reviewer did, I cut back on the amount of creamed corn, which made the texture less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Our family and friends have all enjoyed this excellent dish. I have made and served it numerous times. To "jazz" it up a bit, I added a (for us) generous "dash" of ground red (cayenne) pepper. Also, I use the full 8-oz pkg of cream cheese; to me, at least, it improves the texture and flavor. Of all corn casserole recipes I've ever used, we like this one best; not only for flavor, but for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This recipe is wonderful, and is so easy to make! It has become a family favorite at Chrismas, and a great dish to take to potlucks. It still tastes great reheated the next day. One piece of advice- don't use fat free cream cheese, the texture didn't turn out right when I used it. Also, I noticed that the people who were complaining about the dish being too runny were also the ones who omitted the french-fried onions. These absorb a lot of liquid, so if you don't like onions, you will need to subsitute something in their place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This is a delicious variation on a corn casserole. Thank you! I used some Oscar Meyer bacon bits, a few more chile peppers and one-third creamed corn to 2/3 whole kernel (thereby reducing the "soupiness" noted by some others) with good results. The first servings resulted in seconds, a cleaned out casserole dish and a request for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This was a great change to the normal buttered corn or creamed corn. I left the chillis out so my kids would eat it and next time I may have to reduce the onion a tad only because my children are very picky. The fact that this recipe can be adjusted to suit picky eaters and still maintain a wonderful flavor and texture makes it a true keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We make this recipe every year. It has become a family favorite at the holidays. Make sure you give it enough time to bake. It typically takes longer than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I used 2 cans of corn instead of the creamed corn, and 4 fresh whole roasted chili's instead of canned. It turned out delicious. It got great compliments at the family BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
Was a nice change, but the whole time we were eating it we kept talking about what it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I omitted the fried onions so my children would eat this and covered the top with bread crumbs. I thought that the taste was out of this world, as did all of the other Thanksgiving diners. The consistency was a bit runny to me, even after adding an extra can of kernal corn; but I would definitely make this again with a few modifications. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I thought this recipe was alright though all of my guests enjoyed it and asked for the recipe. I felt it was missing something in regards to flavor and I think next time I would cut back on the amount of green chiles used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States