Baked Cod with Roasted Red Pepper Horseradish Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was delicious, and I'm not a huge fish fan. I modified it a bit to use what I had on hand, but I followed the "spirit" of the recipe. I made horsey sauce from scratch at home instead of using prepared. I also made a mock-cajun topping instead. The red pepper sauce is excellent. I added about a TBSP of lemon juice and a little salt to bring out the flavors more. Yum. I'll probably just use crushed ritz crackers on top next time for simplicity and so other flavors don't compete with the flavor of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I made this tonight and it was ok. I thought that the horseradish was way too powerful. The cod itself was tasty after I scraped the sauce off. My husband liked the sauce though, so perhaps it is just a matter of personal taste. It was super easy. I'll probably make this again but use less horseradish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
THIS RECIPE WAS NOT A HIT. BUT IT SOUNDED GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
We didn't use as much horseradish as it calls for because I am not a big fan. But to my surprise the fish was excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I love horseradish, but it was WAY too much for this recipe. My husband took one bite and then wouldn't eat anymore. I just scraped everything off and ate the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
For those who commented on the sauce having too much of a horseradish taste, I'm wondering if they used plain horseradish instead of the horseradish sauce as the recipe suggested. Anyway, even with the additions of garlic and onion powder, black pepper and a splash of fat free half and half, I still found the sauce to be rather bland with very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I really enjoyed enjoyed this recipe. It is very tasty (dependent entirely on how you make your sauce). The roasted red pepper gives it a great taste. be careful as the horseradish can overwhelm the roasted red pepper if you're not careful. You want just a hint of the horseradish... unless of course you are a horseradish fanatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
WAY too much horseradish--and we LOVE horseradish, so that says something. Sauce completely overwhelms the cod. Won't make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Loved this recipe! It made a nice creamy sauce. I used crumbled Ritz crackers instead to done down the heat and didn't use the other seasoning. The sauce was so good that I even had some on top of the crackers. It was a great way to have fish - something different than the usual grill or steamed versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
My husband loved it! Said it was some of the best fish he had ever had & he loves fish! I thought it was terrific, I wished the sauce was a little thicker, but that would be easy enough to fix. We would do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States