Baked Cod with Roasted Red Pepper Horseradish Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
The cod was dry, but this recipe gets 5 stars for the sauce--it should be a recipe on its own. I heated the extra sauce and served it with the fish and rice. It was very good on the rice as well. This sauce would be good on beef, pork or chicken. Next time I'm going to put it on hamburgers. For the horseradish sauce I used a recipe from this site (by Carol46) replacing sour cream with plain lowfat yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was delicious, and I'm not a huge fish fan. I modified it a bit to use what I had on hand, but I followed the "spirit" of the recipe. I made horsey sauce from scratch at home instead of using prepared. I also made a mock-cajun topping instead. The red pepper sauce is excellent. I added about a TBSP of lemon juice and a little salt to bring out the flavors more. Yum. I'll probably just use crushed ritz crackers on top next time for simplicity and so other flavors don't compete with the flavor of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
For those who commented on the sauce having too much of a horseradish taste, I'm wondering if they used plain horseradish instead of the horseradish sauce as the recipe suggested. Anyway, even with the additions of garlic and onion powder, black pepper and a splash of fat free half and half, I still found the sauce to be rather bland with very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Loved this recipe! It made a nice creamy sauce. I used crumbled Ritz crackers instead to done down the heat and didn't use the other seasoning. The sauce was so good that I even had some on top of the crackers. It was a great way to have fish - something different than the usual grill or steamed versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I used fresh peppers (red and orange) and roasted them on the stove. It was very good but next time I will add a dash or two of salt. I put the cajun mix in my processor until crumbled. It definately added a good punch and flavor. As others have said the horseradish sauce that I got from this site was wonderful and I will use it by itself for future prime rib etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
WAY too much horseradish--and we LOVE horseradish, so that says something. Sauce completely overwhelms the cod. Won't make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
The sauce makes this dish. I'm going to make that and use it on chicken next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wstbrkfan1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I used FERGYBROCK's idea of lemon juice and salt in the sauce. I made a 1/2 recipe and used 1 teaspoon lemon juice and 1/8 teaspoon salt. I also used crushed whole wheat pretzels intsead of the cajun mix. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious! Thank you for this recipe! I used the horseradish sauce recipe on this site and it was easy to make and so-oo good. My only problem was in finding cajun snack - couldn't find at our grocer, so I used Kashi TLC vegetable crackers and added cajun seasoning. Our grocer had swai on sale, so I used it in place of the cod. You'd ever know the difference. My husband really enjoyed this - I will defintely make again. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! I don't use the cajun seasoning - sometimes I will add crushed ritz crackers. I love the horseradish flavor! One of my favorites, it's a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States