Baked Cod with Roasted Red Pepper Horseradish Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Made this tonight with Halibut. The only change I made was to skip the cajun seasoned snack mix because I didn't have any. Did bread crumbs instead but think I'll skip them next time too as they didn't really add anything. Tasted the sauce before cooking and it was pretty spicy... but the cooking seemed to tame it down. The finished dish had a nice horseradish flavor but wasn't too spicy at all, and we have pretty mild taste buds in our house. I will make this again but may add a few extra spices (maybe some fresh garlic and minced onion in the sauce) to give it some depth. I used the horseradish sauce from this site and it turned out well. Made a little less than a full cup but that seemed to be enough for the amount of fish I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This recipe has a wonderful sauce and is a good starting place, as many recipes here are. The store horseradish sauce had HF corn syrup in it. I picked a horseradish w/o, added about 1T to some good quality mayo and made my own. I couldn't find the snack mix so used Panko crumbs, after heavily seasoning the fillets w/ a cajun seasoning mix. (The one I have is a mix of garlic, black pepper, cayenne pepper, oregano, chili pepper, salt, onion, paprika and red and green bell peppers...you could make your own with what you have on hand and like.) The fish and sauce were delicious over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I had to substitute wasabi for the horseradish but the sauce for this dish was still delish!! I plan to use this sauce for other meats like a tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paoli, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I had to play around with the sauce since I had horseradish instead of horseradish sauce, but it turned out great on the end. I make this for chicken instead of fish and usually crumble saltines on top for a bit of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
The sauce makes this dish. I'm going to make that and use it on chicken next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wstbrkfan1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I used FERGYBROCK's idea of lemon juice and salt in the sauce. I made a 1/2 recipe and used 1 teaspoon lemon juice and 1/8 teaspoon salt. I also used crushed whole wheat pretzels intsead of the cajun mix. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious! Thank you for this recipe! I used the horseradish sauce recipe on this site and it was easy to make and so-oo good. My only problem was in finding cajun snack - couldn't find at our grocer, so I used Kashi TLC vegetable crackers and added cajun seasoning. Our grocer had swai on sale, so I used it in place of the cod. You'd ever know the difference. My husband really enjoyed this - I will defintely make again. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! I don't use the cajun seasoning - sometimes I will add crushed ritz crackers. I love the horseradish flavor! One of my favorites, it's a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
OMG !! Just add extra roasted pepper to the Horsey Sauce. Used crushed Ritz crackers and seasoned with Jane's Krazy Mixed Up Salt to season with. It was beautifully moist. Can not wait to make it again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
i didn't really like this at all. Although, it;s saving grace was the roasted red pepper sauce. I would try make it again without the cajun snack food coating and see what I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States