Baked Cod with Boursin Herb Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe was fantastic. Even my sometimes critical husband (who doesn't even really like fish) raved about it. I did make some minor changes however. I had no "spiced" tomatoes so I used canned diced tomatoes and sauted 3 cloves of garlic, 1 small onion finely chopped, and 1 small red pepper diced. I added the saute mixture to the tomatoes and put ove r the Boursin mixture. To all who want to save calories, spray baking dish with Pam and use a light herbed cream cheese ( Boursin is not necessary)!!! Will add to my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe- only changes I made were to use some happy cow cheese (garlic and herb flavor) and a can of fire roasted tomatoes. My husband loved it, will be a repeat dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This might not have been much to look at in terms of plating and presentation but man, oh man, was this ever delicious. Because this dish had Boursin cheese in it, which Hubs hates but agreed to tolerate for me, I deliberately made a hearty pasta dish to go with, thinking that this fish dish was going to be a total bust. Wow, what a surprise - for both of us. Best fish recipe I've made in awhile. I had fresh tomatoes and peppers from my garden so I used them in place of the canned tomatoes. I sauteed some shallots and finely chopped green pepper, added some fresh minced garlic, then cooked that a bit before adding the fresh, diced tomatoes. Since Hubs was so cooperative with the Boursin, I deliberately skipped the Parmesan, which he REALLY dislikes. I didn't miss it. The fish was flaky, tender and moist; the sauce to die for. This was so good even Boursin Hating Hubs loved it! Served with Penne with Garlicky Broccolini, also from this site, this was just an excellent meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
MY WIFE LOVED IT THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS I DICED A FRESH TOMATO AND ONION AND ADDED SOME FRESH BASIL. MY WIFE DOES NOT LIKE GARLIC. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT DINNER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM LUSBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very easy and yummy way to fix fish. Instead of Boursin, I used two wedges of Laughing Cow Garlic and Herb cheese, which was less fat but just as good. I also cut the butter down to 1 tbl. since it was just the two of us and I only had 1/2 lb. of fish. Excellent Valentine Meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I think this is one of the best meals I have ever made. I used light boursin and a tomato basil bruschetta topping. Tasted like I slaved over it all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this with swordfish steaks and it was awesome. I hadn't used boursin cheese before and now that I have, I'll be using it in many other recipes. This dish practically makes itself and really impresses. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Delicious! i made this 4 days ago and i am making it again...it is very tasty and super easy to make. I would recommend de drain de tomatoes pretty good in order to have a creamy sauce nd the end, the first time it was a bit watery. and I put more parmesan on top so it would be nice and "gratinee". it is pretty fool proof! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very tasty and quick to put together. When served with wine and appetizer, this dish presents like an expensive, gourmet meal that took time to make. Drawback: Cheese and butter amounts make it not so heart healthy. I think next time I will choose a lighter cheese alternative, and use half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was fantastic. The boursin chees was $8.00 for 5 oz. which I couldn't bring myself to buy, so I improvised and used Philadelphia cooking cream, the italian and herb, and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States