Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We love coconut shrimp so I was very happy to see this recipe chosen for the Recipe Group this week. We prepared these exactly as written and they are absolutely perfect. They took 14 minutes on convection bake in my oven. The shrimp were perfectly cooked and the coconut breading was crunchy and very flavorful, but not overly sweet. I found a copy-cat recipe on-line for Outback's sauce that they serve with these - 1/2 cup orange marmalade, 2 teaspoons stone ground mustard with seeds, 1 teaspoon prepared horseradish and a dash of salt. It really does taste exactly like Outback's. We will be making and enjoying these often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Trinka G
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
YUM! A super fantastic recipe! I had medium shrimp on hand (60 80 count per pound) and used those to make this dish. Probably because there were so many more shrimp, in the end I had to use 4 egg whites and the entire 14 oz bag of shredded coconut. (My shrimp did look like little macaroons, I had so much coconut on them!) The cayenne provided a nice bite - not too spicy at all. This is going into the file under "Keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Wow, I have to say this was one of those surprise good meals! I didn't quite know what to think about baking shrimp for 15 or 20 minutes but I took them out at 16 minutes and they were absolutely perfect! The coconut was just toasted and the shrimp were not over cooked. I had 1 lb of 30 count shrimp and the measurements turned out perfect. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was AMAZING! I will make this often. The recipe is perfect as stated, i wouldn't change a thing. Make sure to turn the shrimp once halfway through cooking so both sides brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Awesome!! Just used 2 whole eggs instead of the egg whites and they came out great!! Use a Thai Chili Glaze as dip... will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Well, we really enjoyed this one!! I made this for the Recipe Group this week with 21-25 count shrimp and assembled them about two hours before baking, covered and refrigerated. I baked them for 18 minutes, flipping halfway though. I served them with two dipping sauces from this site, Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce and the dipping sauce in Coconut Tilapia with Apricot Dipping Sauce. Both were very good. The only drawback was that this is very messy to make, at least for me. But, the results were worth it, so give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was a great recipe, and so much more healthy than frying! I did everything as stated in the recipe, except that I cut down the amount of coconut in an effort to save on sugar and calories (a little coconut goes a long way)...not to mention, I wanted to save those calories for my sauce! I mixed sugar free apricot preserves, horseradish and dijon mustard (can't remember the measurements...just did it all to taste), and it was a great combination. I think next time I may add a bit more Cayenne pepper to the cornstarch mixture, since I like things pretty hot, but other than that think the recipe is perfect as is. :) Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
We love coconut shrimp, so when I saw this recipe selected for the Recipe Group recipe of the week, I had to make it! These were fabulous! A little messy and time consuming to make, at least for me anyways. But, I also used a pound of medium shrimp instead of large. 15 minutes baking time was perfect for me. I flipped half way through the baking time. They turned out nice and crispy on the outside. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
just like in a restaurant! i followed exactly is it is and used spring roll sauce for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was a big hit. Everyone loved the shrimp. I heated Smuckers sugar free orange marmalade in the microwave and drizzled it over top of the shrimp. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States