Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this according to recipe, turned out great. My husband who is not a prawn fan and my little son who does not eat much food in general, both grubbed on this! They were fighting over the coconut "crumbs" leftover on the baking sheet. I tried it dipped in Asian sweet chili sauce, I liked it better without sauce, hubby liked it better with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I was so disappointed. It was dry and not something I'd ever try again. I'll return to oil and frying the shrimp. It was an expensive disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Time consuming but so worth it! My family loves this especially with an orange sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fombell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was okay, but not worth the effort. I LOVE coconut shrimp but it's just not as good baked and I found the flavor to be lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Wow! I can't believe how crunchy these were. I've tried other oven (fried/baked) recipes that turned out soggy but these were great. I did't have enough coconut on hand so I mixed in some panko; they turned out fine but, can't wait to try it when I have more coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Had this for supper tonight. WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I also tried this recipe with boneless skinless chicken breasts. It was very good! We have been trying to be more conscious of what we eat these days and the fact that this was not fried really appealed to me. My husband loved it as well and was glad for me to find a new way to fix chicken breasts! Can't wait to try it with shrimp!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
We love this recipe. I add a few Panko breadcrumbs and granulated garlic to the coating. I didn't pulse the coconut and it coated just fine. I lined the baking sheet with parchment paper and baked with no cooking spray. I turned them after 8 minutes and they were perfect in 7 more minutes. It was so easy, I'll definitely make this for guests soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I broiled shrimp for about 2 mins. each side after baking for 20 mins. just was not crispy enough. I was afraid of overcooked shrimp but they were just right. I still needed to rate 5 stars because it is an awesome recipe without needing to fry the shrimp. I did use large shrimp. Maybe I could of dried the shrimp off more before dredging in flour/egg mixture to help make them crisp or frothed the egg white a bit more. I did refrigerate for about 1 hr. before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
These were certainly not bad, but they were not good enough to keep the recipe, either. The flavor was mediocre. As others suggested, I pulsed my coconut so that it would be finer. I had trouble with the breading adhering to the shrimp, and the coconut never really got nice and crispy. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States