Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I broiled shrimp for about 2 mins. each side after baking for 20 mins. just was not crispy enough. I was afraid of overcooked shrimp but they were just right. I still needed to rate 5 stars because it is an awesome recipe without needing to fry the shrimp. I did use large shrimp. Maybe I could of dried the shrimp off more before dredging in flour/egg mixture to help make them crisp or frothed the egg white a bit more. I did refrigerate for about 1 hr. before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
These were certainly not bad, but they were not good enough to keep the recipe, either. The flavor was mediocre. As others suggested, I pulsed my coconut so that it would be finer. I had trouble with the breading adhering to the shrimp, and the coconut never really got nice and crispy. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Made these last night. Sweet and yummy. My kids loved them. I used 2 cups of coconut, because I doubled the recipe. There are 6 of us. I did not use the cayenne pepper. I am too fair for it, it iritates me. You could not taste the difference that it wasn't there. I will definitly make again. They did stick on the wax paper. Next time I will spray it. I was afraid it might make the shrimp too oiley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Awesome, simple recipe. Couldn't be bothered separating the eggs, made no difference to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My family in Florida has been making coconut shrimp for years, but it's always fried, so I avoid it. This year I decided to try a healthier, baked version on them at Christmas and WOW-what a hit! Made entertaining really simple by making these in advance and putting them in on cookie sheets in the refrigerator ready to go. Doubled the recipe and they were devoured with every new baked batch. Made recipe as is, with a little less salt and sprayed the top as well with cooking spray before baking to help them crisp up. Flipped half-way at 8 minutes on 400 and they were perfect! No grease and loved that they are gluten free! Served with the "Outback-copycat" sauce recommended by one reader (doubled this)--was fantastic! 1/2 c. orange marmalade 2 teaspoons stone ground mustard 1 teaspoon horseradish (fresh, not horseradish sauce) dash salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This was delicious. My entire family loved it. I used smaller shrimp because that's what I had in the freezer. Next time I will use jumbo shrimp. This recipe is a keeper. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was first rate. I liked it just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Loved it as written. Had some leftover and the next day they were great; reheated from room temp 1 minute in microvwave. Will try next time as an appetizer using chichen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Easy to make, big hit with all the family!! I would add about 25% more coconut as it gets used up quickly in the prep process. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I brought these to a girls' night out and was told they were better than Trader Joe's. Not a single one came home. I can't think of a higher compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States