Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Easy peazy and tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These were delicious! I only made enough for my husband and I to split, but I have the ingredients in the freezer and plan to make them again soon! I wasn't sure if baking would be as good as frying, but I was glad to not have to mess with the oil. They ended up crispy and sweet, without the sliminess of fried shrimp. I think these would be great for guests - you can bread them up beforehand, chill (recommended), then slide in the oven 15 minutes before you plan to eat, and they look and taste spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These were okay, not outstanding. I'm rating based on the preparation and texture factors only, since I followed recipe in these areas to a T. I found the egg dip & cornstarch coating would fall off into the coconut when pressing coconut onto shrimp. Pressing it on was only way I could get it to stick. Very messy and frustrating. I baked according to temp & time directed and found the coconut coating to not be browned or crispy/crunchy, so had to increase bake time. My oven temp runs true as I am a professional baker and had just tested my oven temp for accuracy. Do to these important aspects of the recipe I based my rating. As far as taste they were very good! I did pulse the coconut in food processor for a finer flake. My husband is not big on spicy so I did cut back on the cayenne. These were the only small differences I made to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These are really easy to do and are delicious. Followed the recipe exact and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
My son and I really liked this recipe! Really yummy! A little tedious to prepare but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was amazing. 16 minutes in my convection was spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Really easy and delish. I bought finely shredded, unsweetened coconut so the pieces were very small and used 2 whole eggs as I didn't see using the yolks anytime soon and didn't want to waste them! I greased the baking sheet very well with coconut oil and did not have a problem with sticking. The shrimp were perfectly done at 5 minutes for each side. Served them with a marmalade/dijon/horseradish sauce, coconut lime rice (from AR), and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Awesome. There's no other words to describe them just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
The shrimp taste good. They didn't look great, after flipping they would get real messy, and I felt it was hard to get the coconut to stay stuck to the shrimp. Would possibly make again as an appetizer. I served with the orange marmalade / horse radish sauce others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was a great recipe! I used unsweetened coconut and two whole eggs instead of egg whites (because I'm too lazy to separate and too cheap to buy liquid egg whites. Came out fantastic! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States