Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I'm giving this 4 stars based on my husband's rating. I didn't care for it - I found it too dry, and not through over-cooking. They didn't take as long to cook as the recipe suggested. I've done them the traditional way in the past by frying in some oil, and I'll go back to that method next time. I did take the excellent advice of a couple of reviewers to put the coconut through the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Taste was good. Too sweet for us, but liked baking it it instead of frying. Next time I will put less coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This recipe was really good and super easy. I like that it's baked shrimp, not fried shrimp, which is huge for me. I will most definitely make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Really delicious. The result was a little sweet, but if I'd been able to make the orange marmalade sauce other reviewers recommend, it would have been perfect. Next time! I did use one whole egg instead of egg whites. I love how perfectly cooked the shrimp were, I've never baked shrimp before! Great party appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made this for our New Years Eve dinner - it was delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Made this with coconut flour instead of corn starch. It came out yummy. Healthier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Sound cooking concept, too salty. I found finely milled unsweetened coconut at Winco bulk food section. 'Combined it with regular sweetened flake coconut, which balanced the coating better, I thought. Next time I'll omit the 1 t salt, turn the heat up to 425. Overall worthwhile, shrimp stay moist, nice peppery bite, moderately crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious!! Actually, I made the recipe with chicken as I had some tenders to use up and it worked great. I used 2 lbs. of tenders and 2 whole eggs (hate to waste those yolks). The amount of egg and cornstarch mix was just right for the chicken. I had to add about another cup of coconut (not quite the whole bag). The tenders were fairly large so I cooked on 400 for about 12 minutes per side. I made the orange dipping sauce as per the Allison review. I made 1 1/2 times of that recipe which was perfect to use up the 18 oz jar of marmalade. (I used the jar to store the extra sauce). I'll make this again for my sons when they are home for the holidays. Hubby loved it; served with baked sweet potatoe, salad and corn bread. This is an easy recipe and is different from the usual chicken. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Very good. Very easy. Must serve with Allison's orange marmalade sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this last night for a girls' get-together and it was a hit! Simple to make and delicious. I did make a few modifications. As I didn't have any cornstarch onhand, I used brown rice flour mixed with about a tbsp of baking powder and the salt. I also used two full beaten eggs as yolks are so healthy. Skipped the cayenne as nobody in our group is a big fan of it. We were also using a convection oven to bake them so didn't need to flip them, but in a conventional oven I definitely would. I also combined the remaining coatings (flour, baking powder, salt, eggs, coconut) into a batter and poured it into a muffin tin - was just enough for one! - and it turned out a delicious coconut biscuit that would make a great stand-alone recipe as well! All around, very happy with the results of the recipe and will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States