Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
As far as the recipe goes, it works fine. Just too sweet using sweetened coconut. I might try it again but would have to use unsweetened with a bit of sweetened coconut mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Use fresh shrimp and DO NOT OVER BAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lrdavis920
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made coconut chicken with this recipe. It had a great flavor, but my husband and I agree that there was too much coconut. I would put less on next time. Overall, very good recipe! I like the little added kick in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These were awesome. I used fine coconut and followed the recipe to a T and they were great. They didn't brown in 20 minutes..i actually had them in for 25 mintues and the coconut never browned but still cooked all the way. The sauce I used was 1 cup mango chutney, 1 cup honey, 1/2 cup djion mustard, and 4 drops of hot sauce. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very easy to make and tasted great. Used more cayenne pepper than called for and glad I did, the spice and the sweet was a great combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
would rate this 4 and a half stars. Next time I will use half sweetened and half unsweetened coconut. For sure I will make this over the Christmas holidays. Not as good as what I get in Mexico...but then, it is a whole lot healthier. I wonder if dipping in flour would be better for me then corn starch...I will check that out as well. Yum!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Easy peazy and tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These were delicious! I only made enough for my husband and I to split, but I have the ingredients in the freezer and plan to make them again soon! I wasn't sure if baking would be as good as frying, but I was glad to not have to mess with the oil. They ended up crispy and sweet, without the sliminess of fried shrimp. I think these would be great for guests - you can bread them up beforehand, chill (recommended), then slide in the oven 15 minutes before you plan to eat, and they look and taste spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These were okay, not outstanding. I'm rating based on the preparation and texture factors only, since I followed recipe in these areas to a T. I found the egg dip & cornstarch coating would fall off into the coconut when pressing coconut onto shrimp. Pressing it on was only way I could get it to stick. Very messy and frustrating. I baked according to temp & time directed and found the coconut coating to not be browned or crispy/crunchy, so had to increase bake time. My oven temp runs true as I am a professional baker and had just tested my oven temp for accuracy. Do to these important aspects of the recipe I based my rating. As far as taste they were very good! I did pulse the coconut in food processor for a finer flake. My husband is not big on spicy so I did cut back on the cayenne. These were the only small differences I made to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These are really easy to do and are delicious. Followed the recipe exact and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States