Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lrdavis920
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made coconut chicken with this recipe. It had a great flavor, but my husband and I agree that there was too much coconut. I would put less on next time. Overall, very good recipe! I like the little added kick in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These were awesome. I used fine coconut and followed the recipe to a T and they were great. They didn't brown in 20 minutes..i actually had them in for 25 mintues and the coconut never browned but still cooked all the way. The sauce I used was 1 cup mango chutney, 1 cup honey, 1/2 cup djion mustard, and 4 drops of hot sauce. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very easy to make and tasted great. Used more cayenne pepper than called for and glad I did, the spice and the sweet was a great combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
would rate this 4 and a half stars. Next time I will use half sweetened and half unsweetened coconut. For sure I will make this over the Christmas holidays. Not as good as what I get in Mexico...but then, it is a whole lot healthier. I wonder if dipping in flour would be better for me then corn starch...I will check that out as well. Yum!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Easy peazy and tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These were delicious! I only made enough for my husband and I to split, but I have the ingredients in the freezer and plan to make them again soon! I wasn't sure if baking would be as good as frying, but I was glad to not have to mess with the oil. They ended up crispy and sweet, without the sliminess of fried shrimp. I think these would be great for guests - you can bread them up beforehand, chill (recommended), then slide in the oven 15 minutes before you plan to eat, and they look and taste spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These were okay, not outstanding. I'm rating based on the preparation and texture factors only, since I followed recipe in these areas to a T. I found the egg dip & cornstarch coating would fall off into the coconut when pressing coconut onto shrimp. Pressing it on was only way I could get it to stick. Very messy and frustrating. I baked according to temp & time directed and found the coconut coating to not be browned or crispy/crunchy, so had to increase bake time. My oven temp runs true as I am a professional baker and had just tested my oven temp for accuracy. Do to these important aspects of the recipe I based my rating. As far as taste they were very good! I did pulse the coconut in food processor for a finer flake. My husband is not big on spicy so I did cut back on the cayenne. These were the only small differences I made to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These are really easy to do and are delicious. Followed the recipe exact and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
My son and I really liked this recipe! Really yummy! A little tedious to prepare but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was amazing. 16 minutes in my convection was spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States