Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Exceptional! I lean towards veganism but every so often I indulge in wild-caught seafood (and apparently eggs). I used smaller shrimp (my mistake) but it had no effect on the over recipe except that I had that many more to batter. I served it with the Fruity Curried Lentil Salad on this site. The whole meal took me one hour to prepare and I ate my share in 4 minutes flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
While very tasty, this didn't turn out as crunchy as I expected. I threw in a few crushed almonds with the coconut flakes thinking that would complement the flavor, but perhaps the nuts ended up taking away from the coconut's ability to toast properly. I made a pretty good dipping sauce of store-bought sweet & sour sauce, fresh cut pineapple and crushed red pepper blended in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Delish! I let the shrimp sit in buttermilk for a bit then dredged as directed. I added Panko breadcrumbs with the coconut as my hubby isn't crazy about coconut. It made them light and crispy. I served with Franks red hot sweet chili sauce. This is a repeat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yomaris2
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
It made my whole apartment smell yummy! I absolutely loved this dish! It was very easy to make and definitely a healthier alternative to frying the shrimp. The flavor was zingy and nice. Iactually needed to bake them longer but it may just be my over. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
So tasty and quick to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Excellent! I first dipped the shrimp in an egg-water mixture, then a flour and breadcrumb mixture, back in the egg, then in the coconut. I will chop the coconut finer next time to help it stick better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Great recipe for baked version! Think next time i might add just a little more cayenne powder. Want to try making Red Lobster's pina coloda dipping suace one of these days. We whipped together an impromptu sauce with light sour cream, peach preserves and a dash of curry powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Cuckoo for Coconut Shrimp! Love the healthy alternative of it being baked and not fried like it's traditionally prepared. I added more cayenne pepper only cuz the hubby and I love spice. Delish and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoecr8zy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
very good and pretty easy to make. didn't miss the fried-part. made with a similar to red lobster dipping sauce which was awesome! (not on this sight) also made with red lobster cheddar buscuits... they didn't turn out, but great side if made them right. good meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I'm in the process of making this now and it even LOOKS amazing. I was a little hesitant making this, being a vegetarian i couldn't try it. But my dad is definitely a fan! By the way, LOVE Allison's dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryPiesandSmiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States