Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Excellent! I first dipped the shrimp in an egg-water mixture, then a flour and breadcrumb mixture, back in the egg, then in the coconut. I will chop the coconut finer next time to help it stick better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Great recipe for baked version! Think next time i might add just a little more cayenne powder. Want to try making Red Lobster's pina coloda dipping suace one of these days. We whipped together an impromptu sauce with light sour cream, peach preserves and a dash of curry powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Cuckoo for Coconut Shrimp! Love the healthy alternative of it being baked and not fried like it's traditionally prepared. I added more cayenne pepper only cuz the hubby and I love spice. Delish and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoecr8zy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
very good and pretty easy to make. didn't miss the fried-part. made with a similar to red lobster dipping sauce which was awesome! (not on this sight) also made with red lobster cheddar buscuits... they didn't turn out, but great side if made them right. good meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I'm in the process of making this now and it even LOOKS amazing. I was a little hesitant making this, being a vegetarian i couldn't try it. But my dad is definitely a fan! By the way, LOVE Allison's dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryPiesandSmiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Absolutely amazing! I have gone ahead and used the entire egg (not just egg whites) a few times and it worked just fine. Just hate having that extra yoke waiting to be used and then forgotten! Also, I found that I ended up using more coconut that it states, perhaps that is just because I like it to be "well coated." Serving it with orange marmalade may sound strange, but really does compliment it well. To make it easy, I use a sil pat instead of just coating a baking sheet, makes clean up that much easier. Have made this recipe over and over. LOVE LOVE LOVE it - and so do my in-laws now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Wow - this was really fantastic. I was looking for a recipe to make fried coconut shrimp, but decided to give this a try. Now, I will always use this recipe. The shrimp came out so crunchy. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Will not be making again. Too sweet and shrimps were overcooked following recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I can't begin to tell you how pleased I was to discover this recipe. I was on the hunt for a gluten-free coconut shrimp. I found this and Alton Brown's. The two are very similar, except Alton's has less cayenne and adds white pepper, and is supposed to be fried. I used Alton's spices, but baked according to this recipe's directions. It was so easy, and delicious. My husband said it was some of the best coconut shrimp he's ever had. I made the orange marmalade sauce to go with it, and it tasted great. (1/2 cup orange marmalade, 2tsp. coarse ground mustard, and 1tsp. horseradish) I served it with Avocado Mandarin Salad on this site, which complemented the shrimp nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I'm obsessed with this recipe! It's so much healthier than frying, but does not forfeit taste. I did add some Old bay seasoning in place of the cayenne and some panko bread crumbs, but the baked coconut makes them perfectly crunchy. I will definitely be using this recipe often. So quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekclou10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States