Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
These turned out great! I used a nonstick pan, so they only took about 12 minutes to cook. Definitely making these again. I also used unsweetened coconut, which is what I had, so I added some granulated sugar to the cornstarch, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Especially good with the unsweetened coconut. Great flavor and color, and baking makes it so easy to prepare. Egg whites keep it light, we omit the egg yolks whenever we can because shrimp has enough cholesterol...no need for more! I used apricot jam mixed with honey mustard for the sauce. A great recipe, enjoyed by everyone, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crawford, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amaryllis
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaryllis
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Pretty good, but I improved it with a few tweaks. I used jumbo shrimp, did NOT pat them dry before dipping in cornstarch, and two whole eggs beaten until frothy, ONE cup sweetened coconut mixed with 1/2 cup breadcrumbs, 1/2 tsp salt, only 1/4 tsp cayenne, then of course needed to bake 25 minutes due to the large size. I did not flip them, and they turned out absolutely picture perfect. This is a good starter recipe, but with some adjusting is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Greenfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by summergirl0234
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Wish I added a little more coconut & didn't burn as many, but were a big hit, especially with the marmalade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summergirl0234

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Great tasting shrimp without the fuss and the mess of cooking oil. Typically I refuse to give up taste for healthy when considering a recipe. With this recipe you don't have to- its one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good only problem is that the coconut sticks to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
These came out amazing! Only thing I would change is the amount of cayenne pepper. I'll use half of what is called for next time. Too spicy hot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Taste great! It is a nice change from the usual weekday meal. It would have been nice to have had a special sauce to go with it. I bit dry without something to dip it in. I will make them again, but I'll be sure to have a sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I used this coating on chicken instead of shrimp, next time I will double the cayenne because you can't really taste it at all... I like a little heat! Other than that it was really good and a great compliment to the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States