Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Wanted to make something a little more elegant for Valentines day. Coconut shrimp is one of her faves, but I was very reluctant to make this version out of fear that baked would suffer in comparison to fried. My fears couldn't have been more unwarranted. These were delicious! Huge hit with everyone. Baking gave them a wonderful crunch. So much so that I can't imagine how frying them would have made them any better. Doubled the order by simply doubling everything as written. No need to mess with what works here. The cayenne does a wonderful job of taking the sweet edge off the sweetened coconut. The "Dipping Sauce for Coconut Shrimp" on this site is a must as well. The dredging process for a lazy cook like myself is a bit tedious for a double order, but I'm ready to line up and do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
These are amazing. We've enjoyed them several times now and will continue to do so. I use extra large shrimp and a whole egg (it's just easier than separating). I make a dipping sauce with about 1/2 cup of pineapple preserves, a tablespoon or so of horseradish and a few drops of hot sauce.....Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Therese Jay
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I had never baked my coconut shrimp before so I was looking for a good method. This turned out beautifully and delicious! I did substitute arrowroot starch for the cornstarch (paleo) and adjusted the seasoning to taste (nightshade-free). The arrowroot performed just like cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I'm giving this 4 stars based on my husband's rating. I didn't care for it - I found it too dry, and not through over-cooking. They didn't take as long to cook as the recipe suggested. I've done them the traditional way in the past by frying in some oil, and I'll go back to that method next time. I did take the excellent advice of a couple of reviewers to put the coconut through the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Taste was good. Too sweet for us, but liked baking it it instead of frying. Next time I will put less coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This recipe was really good and super easy. I like that it's baked shrimp, not fried shrimp, which is huge for me. I will most definitely make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Really delicious. The result was a little sweet, but if I'd been able to make the orange marmalade sauce other reviewers recommend, it would have been perfect. Next time! I did use one whole egg instead of egg whites. I love how perfectly cooked the shrimp were, I've never baked shrimp before! Great party appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made this for our New Years Eve dinner - it was delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Made this with coconut flour instead of corn starch. It came out yummy. Healthier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Sound cooking concept, too salty. I found finely milled unsweetened coconut at Winco bulk food section. 'Combined it with regular sweetened flake coconut, which balanced the coating better, I thought. Next time I'll omit the 1 t salt, turn the heat up to 425. Overall worthwhile, shrimp stay moist, nice peppery bite, moderately crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States