Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Sound cooking concept, too salty. I found finely milled unsweetened coconut at Winco bulk food section. 'Combined it with regular sweetened flake coconut, which balanced the coating better, I thought. Next time I'll omit the 1 t salt, turn the heat up to 425. Overall worthwhile, shrimp stay moist, nice peppery bite, moderately crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious!! Actually, I made the recipe with chicken as I had some tenders to use up and it worked great. I used 2 lbs. of tenders and 2 whole eggs (hate to waste those yolks). The amount of egg and cornstarch mix was just right for the chicken. I had to add about another cup of coconut (not quite the whole bag). The tenders were fairly large so I cooked on 400 for about 12 minutes per side. I made the orange dipping sauce as per the Allison review. I made 1 1/2 times of that recipe which was perfect to use up the 18 oz jar of marmalade. (I used the jar to store the extra sauce). I'll make this again for my sons when they are home for the holidays. Hubby loved it; served with baked sweet potatoe, salad and corn bread. This is an easy recipe and is different from the usual chicken. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Very good. Very easy. Must serve with Allison's orange marmalade sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this last night for a girls' get-together and it was a hit! Simple to make and delicious. I did make a few modifications. As I didn't have any cornstarch onhand, I used brown rice flour mixed with about a tbsp of baking powder and the salt. I also used two full beaten eggs as yolks are so healthy. Skipped the cayenne as nobody in our group is a big fan of it. We were also using a convection oven to bake them so didn't need to flip them, but in a conventional oven I definitely would. I also combined the remaining coatings (flour, baking powder, salt, eggs, coconut) into a batter and poured it into a muffin tin - was just enough for one! - and it turned out a delicious coconut biscuit that would make a great stand-alone recipe as well! All around, very happy with the results of the recipe and will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
this was ok for us. i think the cornstarch was a little gummy for me under the coconut. plus, i know baking it is much healthier than frying, but i think this begs to be fried. ;-) thanks girlbob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Appel
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This was great! Made it just as written and it turned out great. Made a dressing up off the flavors in the recommended dipping sauce and it was a perfect compliment. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Absolutely perfect as written. I whipped up a pina colada dip from scratch to serve with for a Meetup group. Every single person asked for the shrimp recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Awesome dish for not being fried coconut shrimp! I will definitely be making this dish again. It's also going to be a great dish for appetizer!!!! MUST TRY! You will not be disapponted and best yet, its less the calories....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Absolutely delish... I also sprayed the shrimp with vegetable oil to give it extra crisp. I served with apricot dipping sauce. That recipe came from coconut tilapia with apricot dipping sauce. Not a fan of fried foods especially frying in the house so this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States