Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is a fantastic meal that everyone loves. I really like the fact that it is baked too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Hamann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Easy to make and very tasty, especially love that fact that it's not fried, as I hate the oil smell. As others suggested, flip the shrimps halfway to get it crispy on both sides, but turn carefully as the coating might come off. I used parchment paper for ease of clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I always avoided coconut shrimp in my kitchen because of the frying mess and the less than healthy dose of oil. This recipe worked out quite well. I increased the cayenne to a full tsp.I tried reducing coconut, but found I still needed 1.5 cups. For the dipping sauce, I used 1 cup or so of Orange marmalade, a heaping TBS of Dijon mustard and a TSP of horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neelique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I found the preparation of this dish to be frustrating. The coconut would not stick well or thoroughly to the shrimp. I followed the exact recipe and directions so I'm not sure why this happened. I haven't baked it yet so I'm hopeful the taste will make up for the frustration of putting it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is the greatest coconut shrimp!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I was really pleased with how this tasted. My only change was adding 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes since I didn't have cayenne pepper. I did chop the coconut in the food processor, and then added the flakes to mix better. It just needed 7 minutes each side. My were a crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
A repeat recipe in our home. Easy and very nice for something special or just because you enjoy coconut shrimp.I didn't have cornstarch so used flour, worked fine. I didn't do the full pound as we wouldn't have 'enjoyed' the rest of the evening tomorrow may be an encore it was that SIMPLE. Used the whole egg rather then just the whites worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Made it just as described, served with orange marmalade and it was very good. Popular at a potluck and I was asked for the recipe. I would recommend baking them on aluminum foil or parchment paper as the cookie sheet was a mess after; I also broiled them at the very end so the coconut browned as I found it was still white after 20 minutes in a 400 degree oven. For 37 jumbo/large shrimp, I had at least 1/2 cup of coconut left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Oh my goodness! This is really good..not so pretty but really good! Used 40 cooked jumbo shrimp from Sam's (which weren't so jumbo). Followed recipe except increased to 1tsp of cayenne pepper and used 1 cup sweetened and 1 cup non sweetened coconut. You MUST invest in parchment paper. It is so easy to cook with....no sticking at all. Didn't have horseradish..didn't matter. Used some peach/apricot spread I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
As far as the recipe goes, it works fine. Just too sweet using sweetened coconut. I might try it again but would have to use unsweetened with a bit of sweetened coconut mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States