Baked Chicken with Applesauce Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made it several times and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This sounded great and I'll probably try again with some modifications, but the stuffing was absolutely slushy. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts too, which was probably a mistake; while moist, the chicken was virtually tasteless. Next time I will be sure to use skin-on chicken pieces, and will make sure to brown it well first and add all stuffing on top, using less chicken broth in the stuffing so it's a little firmer - might try adding an egg. I used maple cinnamon bread in the stuffing, which gave nice flavor and went well with the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hel's kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe! I used chicken breasts, and they turned out super moist and tender. Next time, I want to try putting in fresh apples, dried cranberries, and some cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Dry, need more applsauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'll make this dish again because of its convenience/ease, but the satisfactory stuffing flavor only rates 3 stars. I sauteed the onion and celery beforehand (with a few sliced carrots I had hanging out in the fridge), and assembled the rest of the dish as directed. After one-and-a-half hours in the oven at 375, the chicken was bordering on overcooked. Still, this dish fits nicely into a busy schedule (quick to assemble and frees up your time while it's in the oven), and healthy enough to earn a reappearance on my kitchen table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this using boneless, skinless chicken breast (6) It took about an hour. I thought it was too sage-y, but everyone else liked it. The clean up on my pan... not fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
LOVE THIS RECIPE! I have made this twice for two different parties and both times had to give out the recipe. I used apple cider instead of the can of chicken broth and only used half of the 14 oz. called for. I didnt have any dried sage on hand so I used poultry seasoning in place of the rosemary, thyme and sage. I also diced up an apple and added that to the stuffing. It was delicious! It's a great falltime meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I loved the flavor of this dish but I did have to cook for longer than recommended in the recipe. I thought the flavor of the stuffing was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I was not crazy about this. The stuffing was very mushy and there was too much of it. I did like the applesauce flavor but will not make this dish again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Awesome recipe! My boyfriend and I had a great time making this really simple dish. Tasted great! Really moist and delicious. Chicken fell right off the bone. I'd recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Safety Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States