Baked Chicken with Applesauce Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made it several times and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This sounded great and I'll probably try again with some modifications, but the stuffing was absolutely slushy. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts too, which was probably a mistake; while moist, the chicken was virtually tasteless. Next time I will be sure to use skin-on chicken pieces, and will make sure to brown it well first and add all stuffing on top, using less chicken broth in the stuffing so it's a little firmer - might try adding an egg. I used maple cinnamon bread in the stuffing, which gave nice flavor and went well with the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hel's kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe! I used chicken breasts, and they turned out super moist and tender. Next time, I want to try putting in fresh apples, dried cranberries, and some cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Dry, need more applsauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'll make this dish again because of its convenience/ease, but the satisfactory stuffing flavor only rates 3 stars. I sauteed the onion and celery beforehand (with a few sliced carrots I had hanging out in the fridge), and assembled the rest of the dish as directed. After one-and-a-half hours in the oven at 375, the chicken was bordering on overcooked. Still, this dish fits nicely into a busy schedule (quick to assemble and frees up your time while it's in the oven), and healthy enough to earn a reappearance on my kitchen table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this using boneless, skinless chicken breast (6) It took about an hour. I thought it was too sage-y, but everyone else liked it. The clean up on my pan... not fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
LOVE THIS RECIPE! I have made this twice for two different parties and both times had to give out the recipe. I used apple cider instead of the can of chicken broth and only used half of the 14 oz. called for. I didnt have any dried sage on hand so I used poultry seasoning in place of the rosemary, thyme and sage. I also diced up an apple and added that to the stuffing. It was delicious! It's a great falltime meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I loved the flavor of this dish but I did have to cook for longer than recommended in the recipe. I thought the flavor of the stuffing was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I was not crazy about this. The stuffing was very mushy and there was too much of it. I did like the applesauce flavor but will not make this dish again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Awesome recipe! My boyfriend and I had a great time making this really simple dish. Tasted great! Really moist and delicious. Chicken fell right off the bone. I'd recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Safety Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States