Baked Chicken on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
my wife makes a recipe simular to this, so I made this one, but modified it somewhat after reading some of the reviews. I only used one can of mushroom soup and one envolope of onion soup mix. mixed everything according to the recipe, and then added salt pepper and paprica to the top of all, covered and baked it for one hour. removed the tin foil, stired the rice, and beked it fifteen more minuets, and it was the best baked chicken/rice dish we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
We loved this recipe..I did make a couple of changes..I used skinless thighs, I only used 1 can of mushrooms and drained half of the can..I also used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of celery..I used only half of 1 package of the onion soup mix and it was plenty..and I baked it 45 minutes covered 15 minutes uncovered..It was delicious and the rice was perfect.. thanks (Brampton,Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
This was very easy,but we did not like it. It was way too salty. You probably could do without the 2nd pouch of soup. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
After reading previous reviews I made some changes before making this recipe. I used just one 4 oz can of drained mushrooms, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of celery soup, only 2 cups of milk, and 1 envelope of onion soup mix (most poured in the mixture and just a bit sprinkled on top). The cream of celery added a nice twist to the dish. The baking time was pretty accurate. The chicken turned out very moist and the rice was good too--not too firm and yet not too mushy. My kids (ages 6 and 4) ate this dish and liked it, and my husband and I both had seconds. Will probably make this again as revised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This recipe is absolutely horrible. It calls for too much onion soup mix and cream of mushroom. It tastes like you are eating a raw onion with soggy rice. Please do yourself a favor and move on to another recipe because you will truly be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made some minor adjustments and this came out good. I used only 2 cups milk, DRAINED mushrooms, 1 can cream of broccoli and 1 can cream of mushroom-it was the PERFECT consistency. Rice was tender and perfect, not mushy or dry. I used split chicken breast with bone and cooked about 15 minutes longer. I did NOT use onion mix-instead I used one packet of dried garlic dip mix (bought at Big E!) sprinkled half in liquid mixture and the rest on top. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I thought this recipe was great. I was looking for something simple and I got it! I did not add the mushrooms because I didn't have any on hand and I added extra onion soup mix just because I love the flavoring. It turned out wonderful...perfect! I did not cut down on milk or anything else. The consistency of the rice was perfect and the chicken was moist. This is definitely one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGatewoods

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Contrary to other reviews, I thought this was pretty good. I did modify it a bit. I seasoned my chicken with garlic, salt & pepper; drained the mushrooms; only sprinkled about 1/4 of the onion soup on top; used skim milk; and only cooked for covered for 45 min. Rice was moist and chicken very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This recipe was pretty good. No surprises...you get what you see. The rice was a little too soupy. The good news: easy, tasted pretty good. The not so good news: DO NOT cook this chicken for the recommended amount of time..it will be dry and tough. 45 minutes covered and 15 minutes uncovered is enough. Additional soup mix on top looks nice, isn't necessary:just sprinkle on a bit for looks and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This dish was one that I will definatley alter the next time I cook it. I would first drain the mushrooms, only adding one of them, and only use one can of mushroom soup. We found the original recipe way too runny and soupy. As you can see, most peoply would change this one before making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States