Baked Chicken on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This was just okay. I made some alterations to the recipe according to many of the readers. I reduced the amount of milk, I used both cream of mushroom soup & celery soup(reduced those amounts too). I also reduced the time to 45 mins covered & 15 mins uncovered. It just tasted like cream of mushroom soup on chicken with rice. It did not add any flavor to the chicken. Nothing special or good about this recipe at all. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
too much onion flavoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
After reading previous reviews I made some changes before making this recipe. I used just one 4 oz can of drained mushrooms, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of celery soup, only 2 cups of milk, and 1 envelope of onion soup mix (most poured in the mixture and just a bit sprinkled on top). The cream of celery added a nice twist to the dish. The baking time was pretty accurate. The chicken turned out very moist and the rice was good too--not too firm and yet not too mushy. My kids (ages 6 and 4) ate this dish and liked it, and my husband and I both had seconds. Will probably make this again as revised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
My boyfriend devoured this dish. He loved the rice and how its texture and consistency was almost like that of rice-a-roni. Very hearty and filling. I will definitely make this one again. However, I did cut back on the onion soup and spices a bit. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJENSEN025

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I really enjoyed this meal. It was quick and simple to make, and as long as you get your chicken pieces thin enough (about 1/2") there was no problem with cooking time. I too used instant rice, and decreased the milk slightly to ensure it wasn't too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Very bland....if you like any flavor at all you wont care for this recipe. very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This was one of my favorite meals growing up. Now that I'm a college student and have my own apartment, I find that it's an easy meal for me and my fiance, and tastes great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
We found this to be very quick and easy to fix...! I also added a layer of shreaded chesse to the top and baked, we both LOVED it..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This dish was one that I will definatley alter the next time I cook it. I would first drain the mushrooms, only adding one of them, and only use one can of mushroom soup. We found the original recipe way too runny and soupy. As you can see, most peoply would change this one before making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Contrary to other reviews, I thought this was pretty good. I did modify it a bit. I seasoned my chicken with garlic, salt & pepper; drained the mushrooms; only sprinkled about 1/4 of the onion soup on top; used skim milk; and only cooked for covered for 45 min. Rice was moist and chicken very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States