Baked Chicken on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
great recipe...simple and delicious!!!! did not use mushrooms and substituted one can of cream of mush with a can of cream of chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was a pretty easy recipe as well as tasty! I did read the reviews and followed some suggestions. I reduced the milk to 2 cups and then added 1/4 cup water. I only used 1 package of onion soup mix and think that was a good amount as it could have been too oniony with 2 packages. The rice was a little firm but my husband loves it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whachagotcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Just made this, and it was wonderful! We watch our sodium, so I used 'no salt added' mushrooms, and only one packet of onion soup. Preparation was easy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Impressed!! I tried this tonight with pretty low expectations related to past experiences with my own cooking. I did what other reviewers had suggested-decreased the milk, used only 1 pkg of onion soup mix, and used minute rice. It turned out really great! To be honest the chicken was not entirely thawed when it started cooking (pretty sure that is a no-no) but it came out pretty moist in about an hour. The rice was done and a little gummy but actually in more of a rosotto texture than a gross one. This had way more flavor than I expected having used cream soup in the past with bland results. The addition of the onion soup and the mushrooms really added a nice flavor. Thanks for sharing this and making me feel like a good cook for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
When I originally saw that this recipe called for onion soup mix, I thought it would be great. Unfortaunately the onion overpowered everything else and was too salty. As well, the sauce was a little on the runny side, which I think is more due to the amount of milk, than the second can of cream of mushroom. If I were to use onion soup mix again, it would be a quarter of the amount suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good! I followed the suggestions of using 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can of cream of celery and only 1 packet of onion soup mix. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of milk, I used 2 cups milk and 1/2 cup white wine. I added 2 cans of mushrooms (I removed the liquid from these prior to adding). I did not find this recipe too runny at all, I think I could have left the liquid from the mushrooms. Chicken turned out moist and tasty. It's a "comfort food" dish - no "stand out" flavors, but I don't think it should have anything too overpowering. Very nummy, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I also made a few mods: I used Baby Bella's - not canned. I used the other onion packet as a dry rub on the chicken. I used 2 cups of milk, but added 1 cup of white wine. I sliced in half of a red onion and cooked at 375 (50 & 10). It was still very easy and was a hit for my fiance. Next time I'll try a different soup combo, but there will definitely be many more attempts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I followed the recipe and it didn't turn out soupy at all. In fact it was just a touch dry. And a little bland. But a good base recipe. I'd make it again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
The dish was pretty good. Except the chicken was a tad bland. I added salt, pepper, galic, and season all. It tasted a whole lot better. Great beginner's luck here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beginner's_Luck?

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States