Baked Chicken on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe , cause it reminded me of something my mom used to make. Followed recipe exactly , however the cook time wasnt long enough. When the 1 hour and 15min were up the rice was still crunchy and I have a brand new oven. Put it back in for another 45 min covered it was then done . Would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
We just had this for dinner tonight and it was delicious! I did only use one pouch of the onion soup mix and I used one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of mushroom just because. I did not have any mushrooms, but I will definitely add them next time. The rice was cooked; the chicken and the rice were moist. We were all just talking about having it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this last night but I did not add any mushrooms simply because i'm not a big fan of them and i only used one package of the dry onion soup mix. My husband and i loved it and went back for seconds. Great meal for a family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I don't know what I did wrong... I read a lot of reviews and adjusted the recipe. I only used one packet of onion soup mix. I think this was a good idea. I only had one can of mushroom soup, and after reading so many reviews I thought I'd go ahead and try it like that. I didn't want my rice too "soupy" like others had experienced. After a full hour of cooking, I should have tasted the rice. I'm sure I didn't have enough liquid. I removed the foil and baked for the remainder of the cooking time. After an hour and 15 minutes, the rice was crunchy and the chicken (only 3 breasts cut to 6 pieces) were undercooked. I baked for an additional 20 minutes before I finally added a whole can of chicken broth. I ended up baking for a total of 2 hrs to get the rice to cook. I need to bake it like the recipe reads to give it a fair review, but 'm too afraid to do that. I agree that it would be too salty with an additional packet of onion soup mix, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
First attempt at baked rice. After reading reviews, reduced onion soup to 1 pouch, used fresh mushrooms, 3/4c. white wine, 2 3/4c. chicken stock, and 2 tsp fresh chopped thyme(any fresh spice will do). Mixture was almost running over pan, so had to place on baking sheet. Cooked for 45 min at 350, removed foil, stirred and upped heat to 400 as not even bubbling. Cooked for 2 hours total,stirring occasionally, sprinkled other half of onion soup pouch on top, last 20 minutes, made a nice crunchy topping. Very tasty with minor changes. Hubby went back for seconds, a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Not bad I had to add to get more flavor the cream of mushroom always over powers the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I used to make this last year all the time when I lived in my college apartment. You can find cheaper frozen chicken and let it thaw to save money. I made it without the onion though, (too salty) and it was always super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I would LOVE this recipe if I could make it with a home made cream of mushroom soup and fresh mushrooms. Nobody in our home likes canned mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrisCraftyShop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Way too salty. Would not make this again. I like the intense onion flavor, so there has to be a better way to get that flavor without all the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
not good, all i'm gonna say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States