Baked Chicken on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this dish today and it came out good with some modifications. Instead of two envelopes of onion soup mix I used one. I used 1 1/2 cups of milk and minute rice. I also used one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of mushroom soup. I added broccolli, fresh mushrooms, and cheddar cheese. I cooked it for 45 minutes covered and it came out really good and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Just didn't like the flavor. I think onion soup mix goes better with beef. It seems people either really like this or despise it. It was worth a try but I won't make it again - it was purely a flavor thing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
this is so good and very easy to make. I also agree with another reviewer...after you uncover the dish, stir the rice. I didn't and it got a bit dry around the outside and was still a little runny in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was my first time making this and i am a beginner cook i went with what someone else said in a review. I used 1 cream of celery and 1 can of cream of mushroom. I also added some butter and did not use the onion soup mix( i really forgot). Instead i just sprinkled the top with onion salt and garlic powder. My boyfriend and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I thought this was a most delicious meal. I did however follow the advice of a few other reviews. Used less milk, minute rice, drained mushrooms, covered 45 minutes, stirred, uncovered 15. Chicken and rice were both cooked perfectly. This dish was creamy and full of flavor. This will become a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I made this for dinner and it was o.k. Next time I will try to do some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Do not substitute brown rice in this recipe! It took double the cooking time, and i finally just gave up and ate the crunchy rice. Maybe next time i'll follow the recipe thouroughly. My rating reflects the frustration i had with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Great flavor and so easy to fix. My husband loved it and it is hard to get him to eat rice. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love this recipe..it's a weekly staple in our house. I don't add the dry onion soup mix, I just have never tried it that way, and I DO add one slied up zucchini just to sneak in those veggies, and it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I don't know if I did something wrong or what, but I could not get the rice to cook evenly. The rice around the edges was soggy and the rice in the middle of the dish was really undercooked. I had to cook it probably 2 hours to get it to where it was even edible. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States