Baked Chicken on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This recipe was pretty good. No surprises...you get what you see. The rice was a little too soupy. The good news: easy, tasted pretty good. The not so good news: DO NOT cook this chicken for the recommended amount of time..it will be dry and tough. 45 minutes covered and 15 minutes uncovered is enough. Additional soup mix on top looks nice, isn't necessary:just sprinkle on a bit for looks and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
this sounded just like a recipe my mother used to make, but the rice didn't cook, i had to take the chix out and bake the rice for 20 minutes more, after already leaving it all to cook 15 min more than it said. also had too much onion soup, i would half the amount and only put it on top of chix, not mixed in the sauce....with a few alterations, could be a good dish...(but not mom's)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
The only guesswork is "when is the rice fully cooked?" Simple-- throw it in underneath the sauce and chicken-- takes the guesswork out! I have been making this recipe for some time, and this just tasted the same to me. My husband BEGS me to make this! I make it w/ low fat soup to help cut down on my fat intake, and it doesn't change the taste at all! Also, I do it with leg quarters, and it is even better cuz the chicken is naturally moister that way. Heather Adam Austin, TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
To much sodium! I only used 1/2 packet of onion soup mix and that was still too much. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
My husband and I both loved this and would definately make it again! I only had 1 packet of onion soup mix and no mushrooms to add but it worked just great. The rice definately has to be on the bottom to get done but it so easy and convenient to make. Just throw together and forget about it for an hour. Leftovers were just as good if not better so make extra! Next time I am going to try ground turkey breast meatballs on top and see if that works as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
Just tried this recipe. Very tasty. Itreally goes a long way. I added a little more liquid to it. Served with a salad, it's a really filling meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
I am serving this recipe for tomorrow's Oscar evening. It's quick easy and oh so good (and fattening -- who cares about that?) -- I would suggest to make one alteration . . instead of two cans of sliced mushrooms (4.5), use one can of sliced mushrooms and one can of sliced water chesnuts (4.5) using both waters of course . . everyone liked the added effect. Makes a great left over meal (lunch the next day) . . Di
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
I made this for my family on Sunday & they loved it. they asked me for the recipe to try when they have a get together with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
The rice is very good, however the chicken is overcooked and the next time I will reduce cooking time for chicken and add later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
MY FAMILY LOVED THIS DISH. I CUT THE CHICKEN BREASTS INTO STRIPS INSTEAD OF LEAVING THEM WHOLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States