Baked Chicken and Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
We loved this (even my veggie-finnickey husband) but I only gave it 4 stars because I believe without the additions I made it wouldn't have been the 5 star dish it turned out to be. I diced up 1 medium onion and 1 red bell pepper and sauteed those with the zucchini and garlic. After sauteing, I added them to the greased dish where I placed a half jar of marinated artichoke hearts in a sparse layer on top (I will use the whole jar next time..they were tasty!). I followed the recipe to a "t" other than that and it turned out great! It really creates its own side, and with all the veggies and the use of olive oil (and I used lite salt) it made for a healthy AND delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soapscrubs
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Wonderful dish with ingredients I often have on hand anyway. As another commenter mentioned, you can add other vegetables and tweak to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was a wonderful dish and, with a side of fried potatoes, made a filling meal that was easy, delicious, and used up some of the surplus of vegetables we had on hand. Even my young sister loved the meal and scarfed up everything on her plate. We're already planning on making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This recipe is unbelievably delicious!! I only needed 2 large zucchini along with 4 chicken breasts. I also added a sliced yellow and, pepper and diced onion when sautéing the zucchini. I added just a bit of dry white wine to the oil b/c the heat was a little high and garlic began to brown too quickly. I would have never guessed that veggies alone could create such a fantastic sauce. The fresh basil really adds to the flavor. Served over pasta and everyone had seconds and thirds!! New favorite summer recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Worked great as a last minute meal. A few changes to make it work with what I had on hand. Limited time so did everything in my black skillet, seasoning everything with Montery Chicken seasoning and grated parmesan cheese as I went: Cut up the chicken in bite-size pieces, stir fired it in oil and garlic without flouring (I'm going low carbs). Removed from pan then carmelized the onions in more oil and garlic. Added zucchini, browned, added a red bell pepper. Added back the chicken and then cherry tomatoes, warming and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmileChicago
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
We really enjoyed this dish. I changed it up a bit though. I used 3 zucchinis, one tomato (my boyfriend doesn't love them), half an onion and bone-in chicken. I salted and peppered the veggies, adding crushed red pepper over the whole dish. I also substituted with sliced pepper jack cheese. I cooked the whole shebang in a cast iron skillet which meant only one dish to wash! The results were fantastic, but since I changed it up so much I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmileChicago
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I usually skip breading altogether so next time, I won't bread the chicken (used thighs), but it was very good. Used a can of diced tomatoes (didnt have fresh), added mushrooms and red onion (didn't have enough zucchini), sprinkled crushed red peppers and some more salt and pepper on the veggies. If you don't add a little salt and pepper to the veggies, it might be a bit bland and I loathe bland veggies. Realized I only had about 1/2 cup of mozzarella but it worked out fine. Loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe! Very tasty and simple to make. I used only 2 zucchini and 1 tomato because that is what I had. Also cut back on the bread crumbs to 1/2 cup and it was plenty and I had less to throw out. Will be making this again and it will be added to my favorites. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Good recipe. Added onions and peppers. Next time will add yellow squash! Fresh Basil cooks nice into the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leasha1883

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Easy, fast, delicious, healthy, inexpensive! I might add a sprinkling of salt to the zucchini next time, but maybe not. The only down side is that my 3 and 5 year old sons needed some convincing to eat the veggies. Ah, well. Not every recipe caters to that crowd. :) Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States