Baked Chicken Thermidor Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Whoever transposed this recipe changed some things. This was my grandma's specialty growing up and I recently copied the recipe exactly from the cookbook she used - it should be 2 tablespoons of diced bell pepper (green, red, whatever), not 2 cups, and the recipe calls for a 10 oz package of peas, which is probably a bit more than just a cup. Also, a dash of salt should be in there somewhere. Given those changes, this is the best thing. It's a little weird, maybe, but the flavor is outstanding and the mix of textures is awesome. It is also great cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Easy to make and makes great leftovers. We like using a crusty french bread for the bread cubes, and we use vegetarian chicken tenders cut into small cubes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Veggies too crunchy even after I sauted prior to assembling. I had to make a lot of changes to this just to make it work. Should use a 11x7 inch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Very, very yummy! I made this recipe when I wanted a comforting food -- boy did I find it! I was afraid it was going to taste "canned soupy" but not at all. I did make the following changes: no water chesnuts, no pimento, chicken broth instead of wine, italian bread crumbs instead of the white bread, and Monterey Jack for cheese. I also added 4 potatoes that I cubed and nuked a bit while I was chopping the rest. Absolutely divine - unfortunately I had to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This recipe was bland and flavorless. My husband said it was 'ok'. All I could taste was the red bell pepper. Definitely not worth the effort it takes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was simple and good! I used packaged bread crumbs instead of the bread cubes and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This got raves from hubby and his two frineds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENOFCOMFORT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
This tasted a lot better the second day. I felt it was a little liquidy on the first day. I don't think I will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This dinner was ok, but we preferred the Almond Chicken casserole. I thought this recipe had too much red pepper and not enough flavour. Needed some spices in it. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
I REPLACED THE BREAD TO A DOUBLE PIE CRUST CASSEROLE, AND IT WAS GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States