Baked Chicken Nuggets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
My husband and son thought these were very good. I thought that they were so-so. The thought of all that butter and fat made me a bit queasy and defeated my intention of making a more healthy version of frozen nuggets. Instead, I used a whole egg mixed with a bit of buttermilk for dipping the chicken. Otherwise I followed the recipe (but cutting down on the salt). I baked them on a greased baking sheet and sprayed the tops with some cooking spray instead of the butter. After baking 20 minutes on the top rack directly under the heating element, the coating was still pale and almost doughy, but the chicken was cooked through. I'm hesitant to blame the recipe, though, since it's a new range and my first experience with using a gas oven (my old one had an electric oven). We wanted crispy nuggets, so I ended up taking them out and browning them up in my electric skillet. All in all, a decent basic coating recipe with plenty of room for experimentation with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asingh-EVV
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
The best baked chicken nuggets recipe ever. I have tried so many before this one and results were...well never up to the mark. This one is a keeper. I did listen to other reviewers and made them on rack over cookie sheet. I have also made one more change, instead of butter, for half pound chicken...I mixed one egg and one tbsp olive oil....in the end sprayed everything with Pam before putting it in oven. There is only one change I would do next time to make it extra crispy, flip and broil for last 5 min....if you don't like crispy I would still flip them for even ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I added a little bit extra parmesean and I used panko. I added some Italian seasoning as well. My picky kids actually liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Absolute favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
My kids are like most kids, they want food that isn't always the best for them. So when I found this recipe I was so excited to try it on them. They loved it, heck we all loved it. I didn't use all the butter, but it was still awesome! We will be making these again and again! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto3girls
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I'm sure I will add another star once I make these 2 changes: 1) Do not add salt. The Parmesan cheese is already salty enough. 2) Spray oil over the chicken right before baking. I did not use butter, I soaked the chicken in milk/vinegar. This was a boy approved (Scouts) appetizer and mom approved (low fat) as well. It is a good start and I will definitely make it again because I thought the seasonings were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Courtney R
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
this is amazing! will definitely use this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Easy easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Just made this tonight. I took the advice of others and cooked it on a wire rack so both sides crisp, it didn't work. The chicken was juicy and the flavor was good but it didn't crisp like store bought ones. The plus side is these are healthier for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I loved these, if short on time you can also fry them up with a little oil in half the time, they're already coated with butter so you don't need much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,027) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Baked Parmesan-Crusted Chicken

See how to make a simple breaded and baked chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States