Baked Chicken Broccoli and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ginny in Mass
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now...the first time I pretty much followed the recipe except adding broccoli to the rice mixture and adding breadcrumbs to the chicken breasts. This time, I took some advice from several other reviewers. I doubled the amount of rice and used 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can of cream of chicken soup. I also dissolved 2 chicken boullion cubes in the 2 cups of water before I mixed it with the soup and rice. I cooked 3/4 of a bag of frozen broccoli spears in the microwave and added it to the rice misture. I sprinkled a little garlic salt on the chicken, and covered it in a thin layer of bread crumbs. I like it before...but I really like it now. The cream of mushroom soup gave it a little more flavor and the chicken breast is sooo moist. I can never get chicken to turn out this moust. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny in Mass
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Great basic recipe, but I agree with other reviewers - needed some "oomph", so I replaced 1/4 cup of the water with lemon juice, added parmesan cheese and 16 oz frozen broccoli. When I put the chicken on top, I sprinkled with garlic powder and some italian breadcrumbs. Good comfort food on a winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I tried this recipe with no adjustments and really liked it. I read some of the reviews yesterday and mixed it up a little last night. I used Cream of Mushroom soup instead, replace the 1 cup of water with a cup of chicken broth, added 1/2 cup sour cream, with a little more pepper and salt as well. It was sooooo much tastier. My husband and I liked it much better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a good recipe the key to making it more tasty is adding sour cream. I added both cream of mushroom and cream of chicken. one cup of rice and a cup of sour cream. salt, pepper, and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I used two cans of soup and doubled the rice, and added milk instead of water, and added broccoli. Excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a great base recipe. I used 1/4c. fresh lemon juice and seasoned my chicken with lemon pepper, garlic salt, paprika and parsley. I added 2 fresh crowns of broccoli to the rice before dumping it into a greased 9x13 glass pan. The chicken came out incredibly moist. Next time I might use cream of mushroom soup and use 1/3c. white wine. Also, the 3/4 c. rice is the PERFECT amount. I think this recipe would be too bland without adding your own seasonings. Oh, and the cleanup was the best part - only the bowl to mix the rice, etc. and the glass pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I do this a little differently. I use chicken flavored rice, 2 cans of broccoli cheddar soup, and top with crushed crackers. If I'm in a big hurry I use 2 cans of the chunk white meat chicken instead of the chicken breasts. Very, very good...I could eat the whole thing by myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
as I read in other reviews I did some stuff to alter this recipe and instead of water i used chicken broth, I put bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese on top. i did not have broccoli on hand so i did not use any veggies but next time i may add in some frozen peas. it did however take longer to cook then i thought it would, almost an hour but it was well worth the wait the whole family absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Great recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chevygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Not all that much flavor in this one...and, it took a lot longer to cook for me, as I think I used the wrong type of dish to cook it in (I used a round corningware dish that was taller rather than flat). I added italian herbs and garlic salt, per the other reviews, but it still was pretty bland. Chicken was on the dry side, too. I don't think I'm going to make this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States