Baked Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These were pretty good. I put full size string cheese sticks in the freezer for 30 minutes prior to coating them then back in for 10 minutes after coating them and none of them leaked. we had pretzel crumbs so those replaced the cornflakes. I bakes them for 10 mind at 450. not as crispy as fried cheese sticks but not soggy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
My family enjoyed these. I made them as written, using homemade mozzarella from goat milk. I appreciate having an alternative to the fried mozzarella sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Just like the other reviewers, the cheese all leaked out and the breading or crust never browned. It did suffice the craving but if you are really want to do these right, go for the fried version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Much better and easier than fried. I used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes and I let the sticks set in the refrigerator instead of at room temperature; they came out perfect and melt-free. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Changed quite a bit though. Used Light String Cheese, bread crumbs instead of corn flakes, used one entire egg instead of egg whites, and added basil and thyme. Baked for about 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is pretty good! I used mozzarella sticks that were pre-made *aka STRING CHEESE* instead of a block of mozzarella. I cut those in half. I tossed the cut sticks in the flour and got a really good, thick coat. Then I submerged them in the egg mixture (I used 4 eggs in a small container) and then coated them in the cereal mixture. I made sure to repeat the last two steps... that seems key to getting an even coat. I baked them for 13 minutes, and that made the cheese perfect. Yes, it leaked out a little on the sides, but the ones I get from Schwan's do too. All in all, I enjoyed the flavor and process of making these. They tasted great and were pretty simple. The four star rating is because they're a little time intensive if you're going to do them right. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
cheese everywhere, bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Super yummy! One thing: make sure you don't cook it on a cooling rack. I did this with a pan underneath thinking it would ensure crispiness on both side sides, but all it did was ensure the cheese melted through to the bottom. Still delish when we reunited 'shell' and cheese, but still :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Rochelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
The only issue I had was that they didnt quite stay shaped up. They got flat, BUT, they tasted amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I got this recipe to work, with some minor changes. First, I used mozzarella cheese sticks, the kind you snack on. I also used seasoned bread crumbs and whole egg. Here's the key to "oven-fried anything." Spray the tops of them with cooking spray!!! This will make the coating crisp up before they melt. Are they as good as what you get in a restaurant? No. Are they healthier and cheaper? You bet! This is a good substitute for the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States