Baked Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Changed quite a bit though. Used Light String Cheese, bread crumbs instead of corn flakes, used one entire egg instead of egg whites, and added basil and thyme. Baked for about 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
These work great for me! Just double coat them and let them set up in the fridge for an hour and they will hold much better in the oven. Keep an eye on them and enjoy with salsa or marinara sauce. Love cheese sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I cut the cheese into sticks half the size suggested and left the sticks to set in the fridge for half an hour. I experienced none of the leakage other reviews have mentioned and the cheese sticks were a big hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love the breading for these cheese sticks. I used string cheese sticks and froze them for about 20 minutes after breading them. I also deep fried them instead of baking. Super tasty, if a little messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These are really easy and nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
this was awesome!! despite all of the negative reviews i tried it anyway. i followed the recipe. and they were PERFECT!! i cook for a small school (we feed about 80 jr. high and high school students and 15 staff members) and they all raved about them. thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Cody, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
we modified this slightly but give it 5 stars b/c it met our craving! we used store bought cheese sticks cut in half so that each piece is about 2 in long. we used 2 whole eggs instead of the egg whites we used bisquick in place of flour but i doubt this matters we crunched the corn flakes up quite a bit but they could be more crunched :) or food processed welet them set up for 30 minutes in fridge we did not experience the leaking issues as in the cheese did not spill out however they did flatten some but this is exactly how we had it in a fav restaurant so we were happy with it...we baked it at 425-450 and i think that made all the difference!!! we even could have cooked them longer to soften the cheese more....they were so crunchy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Super yummy! One thing: make sure you don't cook it on a cooling rack. I did this with a pan underneath thinking it would ensure crispiness on both side sides, but all it did was ensure the cheese melted through to the bottom. Still delish when we reunited 'shell' and cheese, but still :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Rochelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Much better and easier than fried. I used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes and I let the sticks set in the refrigerator instead of at room temperature; they came out perfect and melt-free. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is pretty good! I used mozzarella sticks that were pre-made *aka STRING CHEESE* instead of a block of mozzarella. I cut those in half. I tossed the cut sticks in the flour and got a really good, thick coat. Then I submerged them in the egg mixture (I used 4 eggs in a small container) and then coated them in the cereal mixture. I made sure to repeat the last two steps... that seems key to getting an even coat. I baked them for 13 minutes, and that made the cheese perfect. Yes, it leaked out a little on the sides, but the ones I get from Schwan's do too. All in all, I enjoyed the flavor and process of making these. They tasted great and were pretty simple. The four star rating is because they're a little time intensive if you're going to do them right. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States