Baked Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I tried this recipe because it called for corn flakes instead of bread crumbs, since I didn't have any at the time. I threw the corn flakes, oregano and garlic salt in the food processor and blended them until they were very fine. This made the coating stick a lot better than if they were just crushed by hand. I deep fried them just until cheese began to try to leak out. They came out crunchy and tasty. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Pretty good recipe...I think next time I may try lighty salting the cheese before the breading process...see if it will draw some moisture out. We used Italian bread crumbs in place of the corn flakes and deep fried them instead of baking. (gotta have the grease:) Good recipe Lynda, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Too salty, and the coating didn't hold the cheese... it melted all over the place. Although the coating was delicious. ^_~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
With 3 stars, I decided to give this recipe a try. I more or less got a mozzerella cheese casserole with breading bricks (i used bread crumbs too). Two suggestions that I'll try next time: 1. Sweetened cornflakes might be a good idea. The cheese is incredibly salty and salty breading only makes it worse. 2. FREEZING or REFRIDGERATING the breadsticks would make it possible to crustify and crunch-itize the coating, and melt the cheese so that it doesn't ooze. This is how they make Deep Fried Ice Cream =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
Pretty good, considering I made a few changes to the original recipe. instead of cornflakes, I used about 1 and 1/2 cups of seasoned breadcrumbs. also, If you cut an entire brick of moz. cheese, it makes about 24 semi-big cheese sticks. I did have a few problems with leaking cheese, and after reading other reveiws, I coated each stick 2-3 times with egg and breadcrumb. After baking them at 400 degrees for 8 minutes, the crust wasn't very hard, so I let the cheese harden, then put them in at 425 for another 5 minutes or so. With these changes, the recipe turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Lynda- I used this recipe, and I made sure that the coating was COMPLETELY cover at least twice! The cheese STILL leaked out, I don't really care for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
These were ok. I think I did something wrong, but they tasted more like mozzarella flavored cornflakes than cheese sticks. To everyone who complained about there cheese sticks "leaking", you guys didn't coat it well. anyway, thanx Lynda, but i dont think ill be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Yup, these were leakers! Thought I'd give these a try because they're healthier than frying. They just melted away. Although they were certainly good in taste, I'll have to stick to my fry daddy way of cooking cheese sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
While these didn't taste too bad, the cheese leaked everywhere and made them completely unpresentable. I will not be trying these again; if anyone out there wants cheese sticks I would recommend trying something that involves frying the mozzarella between two slices of Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I thought that I would give these a shot using bread crumbs instead of the cornflakes. When I took them out of the oven after the 8 minutes they looked fine, but the breading looked uncooked, so I turned the oven off & let them sit in there a few minutes, and they melted. The breading held it's shape & everything, but some of the cheese leaked out. I think that next time I will use the whole egg, instead of just the white & see what happens then. Even with the "leaky" cheese they were good (I mean they are just going to get chewed anyway, right)? Something to tinker with, thanks Lynda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States