Baked Cheese Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The ingredient list for this recipe is just fine; it's the method that's jacked! I read everyone's really helpful reviews (I love this site) and I made it the following way to total perfection: First, just double the recipe. Pulse the 1 cup of flour and 4 tbls COLD butter together in the food processor until it achieves a crumb texture. Add the cheese and pulse. Then stream in about a 1/4 cup of ice cold water until it comes together. It makes a perfect consistency. Then, drain your olives very well and toss them with a little flour. After that, it's a BREEZE to cover the olives. Like someone else mentioned, just make a flat disc of dough and squish it around the olive. This is a winner! The dough is basically cheese straw dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My family went crazy over these. I made them for Thanksgiving and they didn't last long. I added a bit of garlic powder to the dough too for added flavor. Also, I added a little bit extra butter (melted) to make them have a slight crisp to them. I will definatly be making these again. For Christmas if my family has anything to say about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These were good, but a touch too floury for my taste. We made a batch with white flour and another with whole-wheat; the whole-wheat was better. Microwaving the flour mixture for about 15-20 seconds made the dough much more manageable. Also, they tasted better about 15 min. out of the oven, with a little Dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
These are delicious and super easy but they must be made in the food processor. Not sure why everyone has such a hard time with the dough...add butter until the consistency is moist. I also added a bit of herbed goat cheese to layer flavors. I used black pepper to taste. They take 20 min...not 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I make this at home alot and take to people's houses as well. It's always a huge hit as long as you like olives. I do tend to add a bit more cheese. They are easy to make and from start to finish, fast on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Easy to make, little salty. It still was eaten up rather quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I made this dish and took over to a get-together with friends. Everyone thought it was great. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I used 3 Tbs of butter and a teaspoon of olive oil. I ate a few immediately after they came out of the oven and did not like them very much. After they had set, they were MUCH better. It was almost like the flavors had to sit and blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I saw the reviews about the dough not sticking together enough to wrap the olives in it but decided to try it anyway... and was disappointed. There was no way the dough could be wrapped around the olives! I ended up just flattening the dough in a square and pushing in the olives on top, hoping to cut them in squares after baking. Unfotunately the dough is extrememly flaky and brittle, so this didn't really work well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Use more butter and your food processor! We only use the jalapeno-stuffed olives and never have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States