Baked Cheese Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This wasn't good at all. The cheese dough had little flavor. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used black pepper instead of cayenne. I also blended the "dough" in the food processor because it was extremely crumbly and dry after just stirring. After blending, the dough is very easy to work with. These are very yummy if you like olives. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
The overall recipe was great. I did use garlic stuffed olives instead of the pimento, and deep fried them until golden brown over baking them. The olives tasted wonderful and everyone raved about them. I will try them baked one day soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolatekisses
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
The crust was good, but I did not care for the taste of sour green olives with it. No one at the party cared for for them either. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
i just made these and using other reviewers suggestions, i had no problem. But, it lacks some punch. The "olive" flavor kind of overpowered the cheese. A previous reviewer mentioned maybe a dipping sauce,,,i was maybe thinking a jalepeno chedder dipping cheese sauce and not serving the olives for about ten minutes as someone else suggested, but I will have the cheese sauce hot. You know, that jalepeno cheese sauce for taco chips. My olives are frozen right now but i am planning on putting them out on xmas eve. I think i will buy the dip,,, i'll give it a shot and it will give guests a choice...to dip or not to dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Everyone raved about these. I used large olives stuffed with almonds. I initially had trouble with the dough so added about a tablespoon of olive oil and about 1/4 to 1/2 cup water while the mixer was going till I got a dough consistency. I used the flat beater. Once the dough was formed, I chilled it for over an hour. Then I wrapped the air dried olives and placed them on a cookie sheet in the fridge overnight. I popped them in the oven for 15 min at 400. They were perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Surprisingly good!! I used olives stuffed with jalepenos--I like it spicy! The dough at first looks like it isn't moist enough to put around the olives --but you just have to squish it around the olive and press it in your hand and it works just fine.(you'll see what I mean!) So tasty!!...I just have to think of a yummy dipping sauce--any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
These are very easy and good. The last time I made them I stuck a bowl of cucumber ranch dressing with them since they tend to be a little dry. They were the biggest hit with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I've been making this for over 25 years and they are the most requested item for any and all family get togethers - weddings, showers, holiday dinners, etc. I do add paprika and not so much cayenne pepper, we have little ones that don't like things too spicy. (Make sure you totally cover the olive with the dough - trust me!) I always make these ahead and freeze them on a cookie sheet until frozen then put them in a zip bag and back into the freezer. You realy don't have to defrost before baking - just add a few extra minutes and keep your eye on it so they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The ingredient list for this recipe is just fine; it's the method that's jacked! I read everyone's really helpful reviews (I love this site) and I made it the following way to total perfection: First, just double the recipe. Pulse the 1 cup of flour and 4 tbls COLD butter together in the food processor until it achieves a crumb texture. Add the cheese and pulse. Then stream in about a 1/4 cup of ice cold water until it comes together. It makes a perfect consistency. Then, drain your olives very well and toss them with a little flour. After that, it's a BREEZE to cover the olives. Like someone else mentioned, just make a flat disc of dough and squish it around the olive. This is a winner! The dough is basically cheese straw dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States