Baked Cheese Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very interesting tidbits, we thought they were more odd than delicious. I used Jumbo olives so I only got about 15 of these. Baked in a convection oven they still were perfectly done in 15 minutes (even though they were larger than the recipe olives). I used a food processor and extra butter but the dough was still just crumbles I had to mash together around the olives then pull off the excess. I might try this again with smaller olives (the jumbo ones make it very salty and harder to wrap) because the outside "wrap" is delicious and cheesy. The cayenne really comes through so if you don't like spicy cut it back to just a sprinkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
When I first started making this i was just getting crumbs! started reading the reviews and added water and it turned it right around! Everyone at my party loved these! They are different in a wonderful way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelseabrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I followed the amounts and directions by Ashley except reversed order of mixing to flour and melted butter then added cheese. Heat from the butter helped the cheese mix right in for a beautiful soft dough. I froze them and baked several days later. My dough covered about 50-60 small olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I think I put too much dough on these. Be Careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
My batter was super dry- so dry it didn't turn into a dough at all. But, that was easily solved with a little extra butter and a splash of milk. I sprinkled red pepper on top of some of them so there was a little extra kick. With modifications to the ingredient list (more liquid really is needed) this recipe is a 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
OMG! These were delicious. I did what it said in the comment below and washed off the olives and instead of cheddar cheese I used grated swiss gruyere cheese from Trader Joes! I made mine gluten free because I have celiac, so I used Jules Flour and EVOO instead of butter. I had to add water to get the mixture more moist. But loved the results. If you love olives you'll love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookeville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I followed some other reviews and added a bit of water to my dough just until it came together (I used about a tablespoon total) I also added a dash of garlic powder and a bit of paprika for some extra flavor. I drained my olives on paper towels and dusted them with flour before wrapping the dough around them, which made them super easy to assemble. My olives were a bit small so I had some left over dough that I made crackers out of, my son really enjoyed those . Overall, these were too salty for me, and I normally love the saltyness of green olives. Maybe I would have enjoyed them more if I had a creamy dip to go with them, to kind of mask some of the saltyness. The dough was pretty good though, nice and flakey. Ill make these again with a different olive (probably black ones, and probably stuffed with something, like a meat or cheese) just because the dough was really nice and was easy to make. Id even make the dough just for crackers or cheese straws, but id add more seasonings if I used it for that alone. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I loved these. It was a little time consuming forming the dough around the olives. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These were not that tedious to make. I would expect some time to roll each olive. Why I did not like this is because, after being baked, the crust is very dry and flaky. I would like it much more if it was more moist and soft, not flaky. The taste reminded me of a butter cracker with an olive on it. Not too bad, but not fantastic either. I probably will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I thought I would love these but they were way too salty for me. The combination of salty olives and cheddar was too much. Be sure you use unsalted butter if you try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States