Baked Cheese Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
These are so good and easy to make. My Mom doesn't like green olives, but she likes these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is a party pleaser (if you like green olives and can still eat dairy and gluten). This recipe uses basic ingredients that you probably have on hand. It is a great way to use up that open jar of olives in your fridge. Can be made with black olives as well, although the outcome is not nearly a zesty. You can freeze them and bake them later for unexpected guests. Two caveats: They are labor intensive (but worth it) and I do find I require extra moisture (more butter) to get the dough workable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Poovie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Great taste. Recipe as written was perfect. Very rich, Don't plan on being able too many at a time, & we are olive lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Deliciously addictive but extremely time consuming to make. I tried varying the recipe to make it less crumbly when assembling but in the end stitch with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe about a gazillion times and they're always a huge hit! I have a couple of suggestions to make it easier" 1 - I treat the dough like I would pie crust. I put the ingredients in my food processor and run it until the dough pulls off the sides and starts to form a ball. If it's too dry, I add water a tsp at a time. 2 - I roll out the dough (again, like a pie crust) until it's about 1/8 of an inch thin. Then, I use a shot glass to make tiny circles, then wrap an olive in each circle. Sooo much easier than trying to guess, and they all come out uniform! 3 - I have a few friends that detest olives, so I also do a batch with little cubes of beef summer sausage, which are delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
If I hadn't read other reviews, I would have given this recipe four stars because of the difficulty of getting the dough wrapped around the olive itself. However, knowing that some sort of additional moisture needed to be added to the dough made it much easier to wrap the olive. Biggest hit of New Years Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made these for a family holiday dinner. I added some finely ground pecans and green onions to the dough for added texture and color. They came out very very well. I turned mine several times during the baking so they would get done more evenly on all sides. I also used jalapeno stuffed olives and they pack quite a kick! This dough would be very good for olives stuffed with different things as well as wrapped around dates. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
You must like plain dough to like this recipe, I just didn't care much for it, I expected to taste cheese more. My friends said it was good, but I could tell they were just being nice (there were several left over at the end of the party). I was glad I added more red pepper, I guess the spice made it a little better. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
great and easy appetizer; if you like olives - you will love this old, tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I followed Everlast's suggestions as to the order of combining ingrediants for this recipe; I had made it many years ago, and this was the closest one to my memories. I served it as one of the many appetizers at my parent's 50th anniversary party and received rave reviews! My persnickety uncle stood at the table and kept popping them in his mouth; every single one disappeared as they came out of the oven! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States