Baked Cheese Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I followed a review and mixed my stuff up in the food processor. I had to drizzle in about 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil in order for it to just sorta pull together enough so that I could wrap the olives. Very time consuming. I baked them for about 18 minutes and that seems to be just about right. All in all, I think it was a lot of work for a ho-hum appetizer. Probably won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This recipe came out well once I took into account a number of reviews. It is really difficult to get the dough to come together without a food processer, but with the processor you just throw the ingredients in and whizz for about 20 seconds and you are good to go. I also only got the dough to cover 20 olives. When I tried to make it go further I had trouble with the dough sticking and not cracking. The baking was the other problem - they did not turn golden brown, just slightly crispy and this took about 25 minutes to achieve. Bearing all this in mind, I will be using this recipe again and will try covering other varieties of olive and maybe cocktail sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Tastes amazing! Everyone loved them. Mine were a bit flatter than in the picture but that didn't seem to matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This is so yummy!!! I used feta stuffed black olives instead and everyone went crazy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
very unique! fairly easy and disapeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I have been making this recipe for YEARS! It is super easy to make and always a huge hit, even with people who say they hate olives! If you are having a hard time wrapping the olive in the dough mixture, add just a LITTLE bit of the olive juice (from the jar)...this makes it a lot easier to wrap. That's my technique! The only problem: I never seem to make enough! They go soooo fast! Oh & I never use a food processor or anything - just mix it with a big spoon & it works everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I just made these for the first time in my mini prep processor and it worked fine following the instructions exactly. I added a little more cayenne but found the dough very easy to work with just at it was. It did take a few minutes for the dough to come together but be patient. Great to have in the freezer for impromptu guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
they're good but too greasy and mine melted completely.. I did everything exactly as the recipe states.. I might have used a bit of more butter but some of you did that too and they didn't melt.. Weird... I will be trying this again but with less butter.. See if they stay balls this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I read the reviews and there were complaints of the dough being dry. I agree... if not prepared in a food processor then you really have to work the dough in order to make it work. I kneaded the dough into a ball, then rolled it out with a rolling pin. It will take time, but it's worth it. I made this recipe with cocktail olives and green olives stuffed with blue cheese ~both were yummy. Thanks for sharing! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYTAMI
Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I love olives!! But didn't really care for this recipe. My mixture was hard to work with. I couldn't get the flour mixture around the olives. On the other hand my husband loved them...so the problem is probably the chef not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States