Baked Cheese Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I didn't think these were good enough to warrant the work. I didn't have any pimento olives so I tried both blue cheese and jalapeno stuffed. I added about a TB. of butter to make the dough a little easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Everlastingwhy had the right idea with this: double the dough, lightly flour your olives, and be sure to use a food processor. Additionally, I found it helpful to let the olives drain for a bit on a few layers of paper towel. Removing the excess moisture kept them from getting soggy while cooking. With some tweaks to the instructions, these were a HUGE hit. I served them a few hours ago at a party and they went over so well that I had to come on here and review them. A labor intensive but absolutely delicious appetizer! Love that you can make them ahead and freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I always like recipes from this site, this is the first one that I have not liked. This tastes like salty paste...not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
FOR THANKSGIVING OR FALL VERSION: add orange food color to cheese-butter-flour mixture. Then after wrapping olives in dough, flatten the walnut sized ball on the bottom, then score the sides of orange ball to resemble pumpkins. Add a slivered almond to top for a "stem." Bake as directed at 400 for 15 to 20 minutes on parchment paper covered baking sheet. Serve on platter with garnish of fresh rosemary or parsley for your "pumpkin patch!" WONDERFUL for TGiving or fall festive appetizer! - Nancy in Bend, Oregon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
If anyone else out there is a college student like me and does not have access to a "beater" here is what I did and it worked very well. I followed the ingredients of the recipe but added about 1/8 a cup of cold water. I used a large spoon and made a dough mixture finishing it off by kneading it a bit. Hope that helps any unfortunate soul like me with a beater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Amazing! I will definitely make these next time we have guests coming for appetizers. I used Jalapeno stuffed olives because that's what I had on hand. It was a bit tricky getting the dough around the olive, but I squished mini patties of dough in my palm to help shape it around the olive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
A very yummy lightweight snack! The dough is a bit dry to work with at first, but the more you work it with your hands the more pliable it gets! The suggestion of adding one more Tablespoon of butter was a great one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Made for my Moms bday. Were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Always goes over great! Been making these for a couple years. I like to add some ranch dressing to the dough mixture to help it bind together. Its very yummy. I also put out ranch for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carleezank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bennubird
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I always do a recpie test before serving to guests and this one is a winner in my house. only change I made was paprika for the cayenne since I was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States