Baked Cheese Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Great taste. Recipe as written was perfect. Very rich, Don't plan on being able too many at a time, & we are olive lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Deliciously addictive but extremely time consuming to make. I tried varying the recipe to make it less crumbly when assembling but in the end stitch with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe about a gazillion times and they're always a huge hit! I have a couple of suggestions to make it easier" 1 - I treat the dough like I would pie crust. I put the ingredients in my food processor and run it until the dough pulls off the sides and starts to form a ball. If it's too dry, I add water a tsp at a time. 2 - I roll out the dough (again, like a pie crust) until it's about 1/8 of an inch thin. Then, I use a shot glass to make tiny circles, then wrap an olive in each circle. Sooo much easier than trying to guess, and they all come out uniform! 3 - I have a few friends that detest olives, so I also do a batch with little cubes of beef summer sausage, which are delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
If I hadn't read other reviews, I would have given this recipe four stars because of the difficulty of getting the dough wrapped around the olive itself. However, knowing that some sort of additional moisture needed to be added to the dough made it much easier to wrap the olive. Biggest hit of New Years Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made these for a family holiday dinner. I added some finely ground pecans and green onions to the dough for added texture and color. They came out very very well. I turned mine several times during the baking so they would get done more evenly on all sides. I also used jalapeno stuffed olives and they pack quite a kick! This dough would be very good for olives stuffed with different things as well as wrapped around dates. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
You must like plain dough to like this recipe, I just didn't care much for it, I expected to taste cheese more. My friends said it was good, but I could tell they were just being nice (there were several left over at the end of the party). I was glad I added more red pepper, I guess the spice made it a little better. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
great and easy appetizer; if you like olives - you will love this old, tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I followed Everlast's suggestions as to the order of combining ingrediants for this recipe; I had made it many years ago, and this was the closest one to my memories. I served it as one of the many appetizers at my parent's 50th anniversary party and received rave reviews! My persnickety uncle stood at the table and kept popping them in his mouth; every single one disappeared as they came out of the oven! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very interesting tidbits, we thought they were more odd than delicious. I used Jumbo olives so I only got about 15 of these. Baked in a convection oven they still were perfectly done in 15 minutes (even though they were larger than the recipe olives). I used a food processor and extra butter but the dough was still just crumbles I had to mash together around the olives then pull off the excess. I might try this again with smaller olives (the jumbo ones make it very salty and harder to wrap) because the outside "wrap" is delicious and cheesy. The cayenne really comes through so if you don't like spicy cut it back to just a sprinkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
When I first started making this i was just getting crumbs! started reading the reviews and added water and it turned it right around! Everyone at my party loved these! They are different in a wonderful way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelseabrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States