Baked Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have never cooked butternut squash before...I wanted to try something simple. I followed the recipe exactly. I only cooked half so I could try it and also because I used the other half in another recipe on this site for turkey chili with butternut squash (also delicious!) I thought this was a simple recipe and I will make again. Since I only cooked one half, that may be why it was done in 60 minutes. Definitely will make this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My mother used to fix it similarly, and is the method I prefer, even if making it for squash braided yeast bread. I can scoop it out and mash the squash for other uses. As for the commenter who rated this a one, I don't understand such a low rating when I take it that she didn't even try it yet. Just add an inch of water. Add a little more if the squash isn't done and if the water goes down. The purpose of the water is to gently steam the squash while it is baking. You end up with a very delicate side dish that really only needs a little butter, salt and pepper. Very versatile, it can be mashed, pureed for soups or breads, or eaten right out of the shells. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Simple delish and perfect. Just what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made the recipe exactly as directed. It was so simple and very delicious. I even roasted the squash seeds as well and ate them as an appetizer with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
How much water do you put in the pan? Am ready to try this. Ruth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
OK but not great. Could maybe make 1/year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
First time I ever cooked butternut squash. Since I'm on paleo, I used grass-fed ghee instead of butter and I only used a dash of salt as I'm trying to keep that down as well. I was surprised how good this was. I need to get some practice removing the skin though. I'll be making this a lot. Thanks to the creator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
It doesn't get any easier than this for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I have been cooking this squash for many years in the microwave! Simply cut in half lengthwise, remove seeds and place in a glass dish with the skin side up. Add a tiny bit of water and cover with a piece of wax paper just resting on top. Cook until soft when pierced with a fork. (apx 15 - 20 min depending on size) Remove flesh and add butter, S&P, or whatever else you like. Fast and easy! llittle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I love baking squash in the oven. For this recipe, I put in celery and onions into the middle of the scooped out part and add salt and pepper and some butter and cook facing up. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookInterest

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States