Baked Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I have been cooking this squash for many years in the microwave! Simply cut in half lengthwise, remove seeds and place in a glass dish with the skin side up. Add a tiny bit of water and cover with a piece of wax paper just resting on top. Cook until soft when pierced with a fork. (apx 15 - 20 min depending on size) Remove flesh and add butter, S&P, or whatever else you like. Fast and easy! llittle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I love baking squash in the oven. For this recipe, I put in celery and onions into the middle of the scooped out part and add salt and pepper and some butter and cook facing up. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookInterest
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is a great recipe. I cook mine in the microwave, a little faster than the oven. Cook on high until done. Also, great when you sprinkle nutmeg, cinnamon, and sugar in the shell. I cover mine with wax paper when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Loved it! (Just as written) Did you know you can make amish pumpkin pies from these squash? For every 4 cups of mashed squash, add 1 c. evap milk, dash of salt, and 2 eggs and 2 TB flour. Sprinkle the top liberally with cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Ode to the possibilities with this recipe! This is truly Plain Jane - which is utterly lovely as is! But it doesn't always need to be plain....... Until I read through this recipe and the comments on it, I didn't think how easy it would be to add any seasonings we wished: olive-oil-lemon-juice-garlic-red-pepper-flakes-rosemary-and/or-sage-S&P and at the end of cooking parmesan; brown-sugar-cayenne-cinnamon-nutmeg - optionally topped with raisins and nuts; sauteed-onions,garlic,&?maybe-ginger optionally topped with green onion; sage-cinnamon-garlic-&?cream? topped with walnuts; curry&toasted-coconut&raisins&nuts; OJ-concentrate&cranberry-relish; oh, and I'm wondering about balsamic, apple slices and blue cheese; or.... cooking sherry & figs (hubs swore of 'the real stuff'...)....etc.... ****&***** (Oh! WOW! sha-bang!): CAJUN SEASONINGS (I absolutely love the Butternut Squash Cajun Fries from this site, but sadly, I don't make them as often as I'd like to eat them, all due to the work of paring them down...sometimes I simply have more butternut squash than I have time........ now I've got a NEW PLAN!)..... Thanks Coot226 - and all the rest of you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is the easiest squash recipe I have ever made! I usually scoop it out with a spoon and mash it up with butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Was skeptical to have it without brown sugar but followed recipe with just butter, S&P. My 2 & 5 yr olds had several helpings each! Cooked at 450 for less than 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
VERY good! And I've not yet added any butter or brown sugar. The it will be FABulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Love it! So easy to make & comes out perfect! I can't eat salt, but even minue the butter & salt, it is still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pammiepi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe.. wonderful jumping off point. I had never cooked fresh butternut squash before so this was very helpful. I changed it up a bit, though. Instead of putting any water in with it, I cut it in half, scooped out the seeds then brushed it with olive oil. I put it cut side up, sprinkled it with sea salt and cracked pepper and roasted it.. no water.. for about an hour to an hour and a half at 350 until it was soft enough to mash. I let it cool so it was easy to scoop out and mashed it up with some butter and a dash of ground ginger.. no sour cream.. it was smooth and creamy on it's own. No sugar needed, either! The roasting brought out the sweet of the squash and it was perfect! Just before serving I put it in the microwave for just a minute to heat it up and topped it with a pat of butter.. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States