Baked Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I scooped the squash out with a spoon, added butter, salt & pepper, mashed it and served it on Thanksgiving. Thanks for a great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe is super easy (and it makes your house smell fabulous!) I'm baking the squash to actually add to a butternut squash ravioli recipe and I couldn't be more excited. One thing I found, though, is that mine were done around 45 - 50 minutes, but I think my squash were a bit smaller than most. Just keep checking them and decide for yourself when they're done! Can't wait to mash this up with some parmesan! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I have been making squash similar to this recipe for some years and the family likes it a lot. Usually I bake it with the cut side up and coat it with butter and a light coat of brown sugar. This time I tried baking it as directed and it came out nice and moist too. After baking in the oven I removed the skin and then covered it with butter, sea salt, fresh pepper, sprinkled brown sugar over it, and placed it back in the oven under the broiler just long enough to caramelize the brown sugar. It came out delicious. The salt and pepper add a nice dimension to the flavor that was just perfect. This is a simple recipe that tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micah.Funk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lula, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Hands down, the easiest side dish I've ever made! The squash added a nice aroma to the kitchen and turned out very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Wonderfully easy and tasty recipe. We topped it off by mashing squash with butter, brown sugar and salt. So tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Yum! I'd never a made squash before and this made it easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
The only thing I do differently is about 2 1/2 to 3 hours at 225-250 and use Seasoned salt on it along with plenty of butter. Very little loss with small seed cavity and oodles of meat on these makes them very good for freezing after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I usually bake it without the water/bain marie. What a lovely way to keep it moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
After baking, instead of removing the skin, I turned the squash halves over so the cut side was up. Then I put the butter, a small amount of brown sugar and maple syrup, salt and pepper on the squash. I used a fork to cut the squash a little bit to make room for those things. Then put them on a broiler pan and broiled them until the tops were a little brown. We just ate the squash out of the skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I love butternut squash. This was a great way to cook it. I've never cooked it like this but I will from now on. When it was done I flipped them over and brushed with some butter and added a bit of brown sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States