Baked Brunch Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I've been making this same recipe (almost) for >35 years. My family loves it for Christmas breakfast! A couple of differences in mine: (13"x9" dish) I take off the crusts and just use the bread squares (wheat is great!); 2 cups of ham 2 cups of grated cheese over the bread and another layer of breakd. THEN 6 beaten eggs with 3 cups milk, 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp. dry mustard. Pour over the layers. The milk will absorb! Refrigerate over night (it works as well to bake immediately, though.) Before baking, add 2 cups crushed corn flakes, crackers or bread crumbs, then pour over 1/2 cup melted margarine. DO use a cookie sheet under the baking dish though, it may boil over in your oven. This recipe halves perfectly to fit in a 9" square baking dish for a smaller size. AND it is great for dinner with biscuits, applesauce or fruit! We call it "Christmas Brunch Souffle"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Fantastic, although I made it with Bacon instead of Ham. Best breakfast casserole I have ever made and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
After reading some of the reviews I made a couple of changes to the receipe. I used Pillsbury crescent rolls instead of the loaf white bread. I laid out the dough in the dish and baked per instructions on the package. After taking it out of the oven I added tsp of butter before adding the mixture. Also, I increased the amount of ham to 2 cups. It was awesome! I will use this receipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is so good, and quick to make. I used wheat bread, chopped deli ham and added some dried onion. Baked for 45 minutes and it was done. Um, um, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Hmm, I really debated whether to give this 4 or 5 stars. It's actually pretty good but I think with a few tweaks it really does become a five star recipe. First, I strongly suggest you go with a heartier bread than just plain, doughy white bread. A nice honey wheat bread works great and gives better texture and taste. Also, to cut down on some calories and cholesterol, use 4 whole eggs and 4-6 egg whites. You will still get a very rich egg taste, but in a much healthier way. And last, this dish screams for some freshly ground pepper in the egg. Just whisk it in and pour over as directed. I love this made vegetarian style by leaving out the ham and adding sauted mushrooms, green peppers and onions. Switch up the cheese as well to make it different each time. Like it zesty? Add some pepperjack. Like it a bit more mellow? Try some shredded baby swiss. It's a very versatile recipe and super delicious with some simple changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
We loved it with slight variations - multi-grain bread, SPAM, and no hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
For those that had a texture issue, I bet it wasn't baked long enough. Make sure the entire top of the omelet is puffed. If the center has a depression, it is not cooked all the way. The time difference may have to do with the temperature of your oven or if you used small eggs. I make this frequently and I never use a water bath. If you are looking for a little more flavor add 1T worchestshire sauce and 2 T dijon mustard to the egg mixture..and vary the cheese Go crazy with the extras use whatever meat or veggies you like but keep the total amount to no more than two cups or the whole thing falls apart when you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Adjusted my serving to 14. Read other review and added more bread about 3/4 of the loaf. Used wheat bread also. Didn't have green peppers so I used 1/4 cup of onions instead. Used 1 percent fat-free milk. Turned out well and all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I serve this for Easter brunch the difference in mine I hand crush cornflakes over top and then drizzle melted butter over the top! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I use a loaf of crusty French bread and add thinly sliced mushrooms and a cup of cooked, squeeze-dried spinach in the layers. I used 1 1/2 cups of liquid coffee mate, saves lots of calories, which I make up for by adding a couple of tbls melted butter and several scrapes of fresh nutmeg. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States