Baked Brie with Mushrooms and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Like a lot of people, I made a couple of changes. I did not have almonds on hand....subsituted walnuts. Nor did I have any brandy...skipped it altogether. What I ended with was a savoury melted brie with mushrooms, and the nuts, was wonderful for our Sunday lunch served with Port. Life is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Don't use canned mushrooms folks,those of you who found it greasy, the fresh mushrooms will absorb the butter. This recipe is fabulous. It's a treat, don't worry about the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was delicious! I used sliced portabella and the flavor was great-everyone agreed. Next time will leave the butter out as the top did become too greasy. No need to add extra fat when using brie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this with lots of almonds and mushrooms and garlic, some tarragon, a pinch of nutmeg. And I used Cognac instead of brandy - poured it on an opened log of brie and baked it - wonderful! Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was amazing and so easy. I did cut back on the butter and used fresh mushrooms, not sure why anyone would used canned. Can't wait to make it again it was a huge hit with our guests. Nice to know that it can be varied a bit with different brandy's and mushrooms etc., just for a change now and then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I've made this several times for dinner at home or to bring to parties and it's been very well-received. I've always used fresh mushrooms, which I would suggest since it adds no time to the recipe and tastes great. I do often add a bit extra brie or cut back on the mushrooms though, because 8 oz. is a lot for one wheel of cheese. I also once added fresh diced tomatoes on top after cooking, which improved the presentation greatly but didn't really have a huge effect on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Aulwes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made this over the holidays when my boyfriends family came to visit. We had it in the middle of a domino's game. This was so good. Everyone was raving about it. We put the game on hold to gobble it up. I did make some adjustments, I didn't have the almonds so I put walnuts in. I also added some sundried tomatoes. I served it with some Nonna garlic toasts from Costco. I can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Fantastic! sauteed some baby bellas instead of canned shrooms. Really wonderful. Don't add as much butter as the recipe says and make sure not to burn the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was ok for the first time trying it...I would reduce the butter, and figure out how to reduce the saltiness just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States