Baked Brie with Mushrooms and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Very elegant recipe, appropriate for fancy dinner parties. I had difficulty removing the brie coating, but the mix of flavors was superb and worth the effort. I used fresh mushrooms without a problem, and also substituted apple jack flavored brandy. Be careful not to burn the almonds when toasting - they brown quickly if left on a high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Wonderful but next time I will use less or no butter since the oil from the cheese plus the butter makes it very oily. Flavor is wonderful! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This was fabulous! I made this along with several other appetizers on Christmas Eve and this went first. I had several requests for this recipe and will definitely be making this again. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Fantastic center piece to my buffet table! I did cut the amount of butter in half because I knew from experience how much fat Brie can release when baked. You don't have to buy the most expensvive Brie out there, I had very good sucess with Presidental Brie which costs between $10-$15 a wheel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Fabulous! Don't bother removing the white coating, it's completely edible, although a bit stronger, it's delicious! I served this with some homemade toast points for our anniversary and it was such a special appetizer! Now I buy brie cheese in bulk so I can make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was delicious! I used Canola Harvest, fresh mushrooms and a clove of garlic and it was a HUGE hit. Served with Triscuits to keep to our South Beach Diet. Did need to bake about 15 minutes longer to completely melt the Brie, but worth the wait! Everyone wanted the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
so good, I served this at my super bowl party and it was the first thing to disappear, and I made a double batch! Next time I am going to add more almonds, because I could barley tell they were in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Although the flavor was good it was VERY greasy. If I make this recipe again I would completely omit the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I've made this several times for dinner at home or to bring to parties and it's been very well-received. I've always used fresh mushrooms, which I would suggest since it adds no time to the recipe and tastes great. I do often add a bit extra brie or cut back on the mushrooms though, because 8 oz. is a lot for one wheel of cheese. I also once added fresh diced tomatoes on top after cooking, which improved the presentation greatly but didn't really have a huge effect on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Aulwes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
It was OK ,I think Brie did'nt melt enough, shall try again, maybe, it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Lasagna-Stuffed Mushrooms

Mushrooms stand in deliciously for noodles in this cheesy, 5-star lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States