Baked Brie with Mushrooms and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
OMG! This is more than 5 Stars! Words fail me - I love to find something different for parties - I almost ate all of it before my guests arrived! I did not change the recipe - I did use Presidental Brie and Hennessy Cognac (Cognac is a fine brandy). It would probably be good with an Apple Flavored brandy. There were no leftovers as we all hovered over the dish until nothing was left. I served with toast points. I'm having a family dinner in a few days and can't wait to serve this again!!! maybe with some apple slices and Triscuts or toast points. Thank you so much Amy! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I used ground almonds instead of slivers- I prefer the texture. Also, I'm a garlic lover so I used a lot more garlic but I roasted it so it would not overpower. And I'm not big on canned mushrooms, so I went for fresh oyster mushrooms- they have such a light, nutty flavour that they were perfect with the brie and almonds. Finally, I baked it pizza-style on a homemade thin-crust (I cut the butter as some reviewers suggested- a good call, I think)... and cracked some fresh pepper over it before serving. Oh my dear god, it was glorious. I will definitely make this again. If you're not a fan of mushrooms, try it with thinly sliced pear, apple or strawberry. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoamonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweets in the nude
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I had no idea what to expect when I made this. The cheese and everything melted together. I toasted some sourdough bread and ate it with that. It was a total hit my friends and I couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets in the nude
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
We went to a Christmas party hosted by a delicious restaurant and brought the appetizers. I was intimidated, but the reviews were true to their word! This was fabulous and even got rave reviews from the head chef! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This came out OK. I probably let it sit a bit too long before serving...but in general, people didn't seem too thrilled with the mushrooms and didn't find it to be anything too special. Baked brie is always good...so this was still nice...but not much different overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
very yummy, I used fresh babybellas and fresh tarragone...mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was really bad. It was slimy and overpowering with tarragon. It's not appetizing looking either. Don't bother with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this for Valentines Day and I added chopped sundried tomatoes and I did not have Brandy instead I used Grand Mar and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I made this recipe for Christmas day and everyone loved it! I'll definitely be making it again as a fancy appetizer dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
One word.....delicious! I made this for a holidy get together, and I loved it. However, it wasn't as big of a hit as I thought it should have been. Maybe my friends are not big brie eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Lasagna-Stuffed Mushrooms

Mushrooms stand in deliciously for noodles in this cheesy, 5-star lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States