Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I'm only giving this four stars because I changed the recipe somewhat, otherwise it'd be five! The key to the deliciousness was a mushroom brie from Trader Joe's---the flavor fused perfectly with the other ingredients. Also, I used individual puff pastries to make it easier to serve, left out the apples, and put one clove of roasted garlic inside of each instead of on top. Amazing! Can't wait to bring it to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Excellent baked Brie. The Granny Smith apples give a nice tartness that softens the sweet roasted garlic. The only changes that I made was that I used shallots instead of onions. It provides a more delicate flavor that doesn't over-power the apples and garlic. I also added the roasted garlic with the apple and shallot on top of the Brie instead of as a garnish. This combination enhances the wonderful flavor of the Brie. Try it; you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This recipe was delicious and a very nice presentation. I didn't serve any starch on the side, as the puff pastry is already included. Lovely with a nice white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leboulanger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I made a very similar version of this recipe last night and took it to a ladies get-together. My recipe varied a bit although its hard to go wrong with these ingredients. I cut a 15 oz round of brie in half horizontally, topped with a few tablespoons of apricot preserves, then topped that with carmelized onions mixed with roasted chopped walnuts. Then I added the second half of the brie and used the same toppings (apricot, onion/walnuts). I didn't use as much butter when I carmelized the onions - only about 2 Tbs - and I cooked them very slowly for about 15 minutes before adding a spoonful of sugar and letting them cook covered for 10 more minutes and adding the walnuts. I also used thawed Phyllo dough (4 sheets brushed with butter) to wrap the brie. I served this with sliced baguette bread and crackers, with sliced Asian pears on the side. Yummm.. this was met with rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I have made this multiple times now and it is an absolute hit with everyone! No need for any garnish and simplifies the recipe immensely. Serve with good, whole wheat crackers. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I had something like this at a local cafe and made my own version of it. I carmelized an onion with a handfull of chopped hazelnuts and mixed in a small jar of apricott preserves. I wrapped it in phyllo dough instead of puff pastry and served it with fruit and sliced baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I made this for a party. I am not a brie lover, but my guests really liked this. Followed recipe, smelled great and none left over. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Fabulous! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
So simple, yet so impressive! My roommate and I made this randomly one night and gobbled it up with water crackers. I will definatey make this again for a larger group (so I don't eat it all!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Not that easy to make and sort of messy. Tastes good, but VERY rich. A little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States