Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I made individual bakes bries. I bought the already made mini puffed pastry shells (freezer section), put about a Tablespoon of brie in each, then topped with about 1 teaspoon of the onion mixture and one piece of roasted garlic on each, baked them on a cookie sheet for about 6 minutes at 350. I bought a jar of the already peeled garlic, tossed them in a little olive oil and a pinch of salt then roasted them in a foil pocket at 400 for 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANNEGRALER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Awesome recipe! I made it for a Christmas Eve dinner and everyone was quite impressed with it, though it was SO easy. I didn't bother with the apples, I didn't want a 'sweet' brie recipe. Some 'brie-newbies' might wonder about what to do about the rind. All a personal preference thing. I personally think the texture is a little gross, so I don't eat it. Some will argue that the rind is where the best flavor is. What I did was cut the top rind from it and leave the rest, that way I could easily scoop the tasty inner cheese from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I made a very similar version of this recipe last night and took it to a ladies get-together. My recipe varied a bit although its hard to go wrong with these ingredients. I cut a 15 oz round of brie in half horizontally, topped with a few tablespoons of apricot preserves, then topped that with carmelized onions mixed with roasted chopped walnuts. Then I added the second half of the brie and used the same toppings (apricot, onion/walnuts). I didn't use as much butter when I carmelized the onions - only about 2 Tbs - and I cooked them very slowly for about 15 minutes before adding a spoonful of sugar and letting them cook covered for 10 more minutes and adding the walnuts. I also used thawed Phyllo dough (4 sheets brushed with butter) to wrap the brie. I served this with sliced baguette bread and crackers, with sliced Asian pears on the side. Yummm.. this was met with rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Made this for a neighborhood picnic yesterday. Only change was phyllo for puff pastry because I had it on hand. I got great reviews from all the neighbors! The appples did not add anything to the flavor, so next time I will just use 2 onions (or more.) The roasted garlic was a yummy addition, though! Will make again, VERY easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Excellent baked Brie. The Granny Smith apples give a nice tartness that softens the sweet roasted garlic. The only changes that I made was that I used shallots instead of onions. It provides a more delicate flavor that doesn't over-power the apples and garlic. I also added the roasted garlic with the apple and shallot on top of the Brie instead of as a garnish. This combination enhances the wonderful flavor of the Brie. Try it; you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made two different baked brie recipes and found that combining the two resulted in fireworks! I caramelized onions with butter, thyme, white wine and sugar. DELICIOUS! Next, I cut the brie wheel in half length-wise and put the caramelized onions in between. I put the two halves back together and then wrapped in puff pastry. I messed up by not making sure the puff pastry was sealed as the brie leaked out. Pinch those sides tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this for a party, and first nobody touched it. Once someone cut into it, it disappeared fast! The onion/apple combo is awesome. I served with Wheat Thins. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I have made this multiple times now and it is an absolute hit with everyone! No need for any garnish and simplifies the recipe immensely. Serve with good, whole wheat crackers. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was OUTSTANDING!! Made for NYE and it was a big hit! Omitted the apples (had none!) and had to use crescent roll dough. But I did cut the brie round in half horizontally and placed the onions and garlic on half, then topped with the other half. Wrapped tightly with the dough and baked for 20 mins. Perfect!! A great appy with crackers! Would have loved to have served it with jalapeno jelly, but didn't have that either! Thanks for a great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very tasty indeed. I made this during the holidays and served it with french bread crisps and it dissapeared in no time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States