Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is a good recipe. I've made it with and without the puff pastry--delicious either way. (When I didn't have pastry, I scored the top of the brie to allow the toppings to seep into the cheese). I've also added slivered toasted almonds before. Beautiful combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Followed recipe. While the taste was good, the concept unique among baked bries but we found it to be on the dry side. It presented well. Really seemed to need a complimentary light tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The caramelized onions, baked garlic, baked brie and apple combination was amazing! I didn't have puff pastry, so I hollowed out a loaf of cheese bread and put everything inside: brie cut in half horizontally made the bottom layer, then caramalized onions cooked with tart homemade applesauce (didn't have any tart apples), baked garlic cloves, then covered with the top crust of the bread. Baked about 25 minutes. It was absolutely delicious and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was so good!! I added raisin too and got rave reviews. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I was very surprised by how yummy this was. I put minced garlic in with the onions instead of having garlic on top. A big hit with the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Made this for a Christmas appetizer and everyone loved it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PocketCheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Great recipe! The caramelized onion/apple mixture was tasty but I added salt and pepper to make it perfect. I added the garlic to the onion mixture and use phyllo dough because that was all I had. Make sure to use a flavorful apple--a tastless apple will add nothing to flavor while a really tasty apple will enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Very tasty. Don't forget to allow time for the puff pastry to thaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelCooks4u

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is so easy and VERY good! I made this to take to a party and got MANY requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I bummed this recipe off of a friend who got it from this site. It is soooo good! You can't go wrong. The directions are simple, the ingredients are clear cut. I made for a Thanksgiving appetizer, at a "gourmet chef's" house, and it was a huge hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States