Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This turned out amazing!! I brought it to Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it! It was gobbled up in minutes. I will make this again and again. I used croissant dough instead of puff pastry because that what I had and it still turned out great. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakeslove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My husband thought apples and onions sounded lame. I said tough and so glad I did! He and the rest of the family have requested I make again...Soooo GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I love this recipe; it's fun, easy and delicious! I've made it for several parties and have never had any leftover. After the first couple of times, I decided that a whole onion was too big and have since been making it with a shallot instead. It's a great substitute if you have guests who aren't crazy about onion. I second the earlier comment about making sure you give the puff pastry enough time to thaw, though; I ripped it while trying to unfold it the first time, and butter oozed out everywhere. But even that was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Delicious!! Didn't have time to add the roasted garlic, but otherwise did the recipe as is. Fantastic! and oh so easy. My only recommendation: w/ the puff pastry, while thawing get it unfolded. If you wait until fully thawed it is too sticky to unfold. Also, I got the brie wheel from Sams Club so it was double the size, i think just thicker and it worked perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
OMG! too delicious. that's all I have to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Oh My.. This is SOOO GOOD! Here is what I did to make it "my own" Roast the garlic and serve NEXT to the brie. I carmalized the onion and apple and once it was done I removed the skillet from the heat and sprinkled with brown sugar. Just let it sit there and melt in. I then added some fresh rosemary just a little. place the onion/apple mix in the center of the dough and place the brie ontop of that. fold and pinch. I place seam side down and brushed with cream or butter. bake and let it rest... YUMM7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum! I didn't have any apples on hand, so I omitted them. The creamy savory brie and the sweet carmelized onions were a perfect complement to each other. I think that the apples would have taken away from the dish by adding too many flavors. I added a pinch of sugar to the onions while they were cooking and cooked them for a good 40 minutes. There is a good article on this site detailing how to caramelize onions. Also added some minced garlic straight to the onions. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
All I can say is YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time and followed the directions exactly. I was mildly pleased. If I make again I will chop onions and apples. Slices were to large and overwhelmed everything else. I would only prepare 1/2 an onion and omit the garlic. (atleast in this form) I am a garlic lover but this was way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made two different baked brie recipes and found that combining the two resulted in fireworks! I caramelized onions with butter, thyme, white wine and sugar. DELICIOUS! Next, I cut the brie wheel in half length-wise and put the caramelized onions in between. I put the two halves back together and then wrapped in puff pastry. I messed up by not making sure the puff pastry was sealed as the brie leaked out. Pinch those sides tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States