Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This turned out GREAT....will be a regular this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made this last year and we loved it just the way it is written. That being said now that it has gotten cooler in WI. I'm making it again today.Love it so much I don't even look any place for my beef stew but right here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
We didn't follow the recipe exactly. I added a little red wine after browning the beef. And when I went to the pantry for a can of tomatoes I could only find a can of tomatoes with green chilies. Turns out that added just the right amount of spicy. So good even my picky three year old ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eli Loehrke

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Way to tomato.love the baking idea instead of on the stove. Wil retry less tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Higgins
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I loved this recipe except for the bread. I would omit it the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved this so much, and I don't even like beef stew! The bread was a little soggy in it, but I can see why it was added to be like French Onion soup. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Tried this last night and LOVED IT! I made a couple of changes: left out the potatoes because I wanted to try the tapioca - enough starch - but liked what the tapioca did for the recipe. Also left out the sugar and added 3 cloves of chopped fresh garlic. Baked it in my cast iron dutch oven with the lid on and it was yummy! Suzie, Oneonta, AL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oneonta, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Was good and I would make it again just needs a few more seasoning added and instead of tapioca I coated my meat in flour before browning and my stew thickened just fine that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've made this many times with great results. I leave out the bread slices though. I also season my meat with pepper, garlic powder and salt when browning. Then I add a li'l more garlic and seasonings like thyme to the batch before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very delicious and easy to prepare. I thought this was a little too salty, but that could just be from the bouillon too. If I make this again I will cut the amount of salt. Other than that very delicious, and I served with freshly baked rolls. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States